We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Square” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Square

Fountain Square
5th and Vine Sts, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513 621 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The tree lighting was going on the night that we were there which was a very nice celebration and set up really nice with booths with non-commercial vendors (glad to see). The Ice Rink that was set up and very busy was also very nice!The shopping in Downtown Cincinnati has some work to be down as the only major stores were Macy's and Tiffany's. Lots of restaurants downtown but in the Winter not much else to do.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    124
    44
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“ice skating on fountain square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I walked around Fountain Square on Black Friday this year. There is a small Ice skating rink set up, a stage and a little village of stands that sell beer, food and special gifts. I didnt skate because I wasnt dressed for it, but the rink was really small. It would be so much better if they could make it about 50% bigger. There was music playing and overall pleasant. water is off on the fountain since its November. I doubt anyone would want to be sprayed with water at this time of the year. I love the fountain but I wouldnt make a special trip just to see it but if you are downtown anyway, it's definitely worth seeing and a walk around Fountain Square.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went there on a Sunday when nothing was happening downtown. It is a nice fountain, but the water was turned off due to the colder weather. Not worth a special trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Gathering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There is always something going on down there. I used to enjoy it until the panhandlers became a nuisance. I had my hand bag snatched there once. That was exciting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLINTON TOWNSHIP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice central downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we visited, it was during Octoberfest, and the Reds just won the pennant, so the place was going nuts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Square also viewed

 

Been to Fountain Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.