We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Underground Railroad Freedom Center

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
50 E Freedom Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513 333 7500
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #18 of 80 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in Cincinnati, Ohio, the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center stands as the nation's newest monument to freedom. It brings to life the importance - and relevance - of struggles for freedom around the world and throughout history, including today.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our visit was very educational and entertaining. They have many hands-on exhibits. The experience of the runaway slave was very sobering and well done

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    66
    29
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WEST BLOOMFIELD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An eye opener. All about contemporary enslavement as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Maps, photos, plus a cabin where slaves were actually housed. Great bookstore. Structure is a beautiful modern building near the waterfront. Contemporary issues are central to the museum, including human trafficking, as well as revelations about the slave trade in the US starting in the 1600's. Many of the signers of the Declaration of Independence were not just slave owners, they were traffickers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am a History teacher, so I have an unusual interest in museums. But, I teach high school History, so I also know how non-history people feel about places like this. The NURFC has done an excellent job of putting together an informative and interesting collection. You can download the tour app on your iOS device before you go, or pick up one of the iPod touches at the ticket desk. This will be your guide through the collection.

Well worth your time in Cincinnati.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Know your History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went there over the summer and was surprised the things I did not know about slavery. Cincinnati as a major stop on the Underground Railroad it's the perfect place. It also has a nice chronological time line tracing our roots through the civil war.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Informative History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you think you know a little something about slavery and issues surrounding the subject, think again. I am former diversity and black history teacher and thought I knew alot about the subjects. But, going through the center broadened my knowledge through its impressive array of artifacts and information. The center helps bring new meaning towards understanding a subject that most of us know very little about either because of shame or history "lost, stolen, or strayed."

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Underground Railroad Freedom Center also viewed

 

Been to National Underground Railroad Freedom Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.