We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Underground Railroad Freedom Center

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
50 E Freedom Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513 333 7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 192 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Cincinnati, Ohio, the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center stands as the nation's newest monument to freedom. It brings to life the importance - and relevance - of struggles for freedom around the world and throughout history, including today.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am a History teacher, so I have an unusual interest in museums. But, I teach high school History, so I also know how non-history people feel about places like this. The NURFC has done an excellent job of putting together an informative and interesting collection. You can download the tour app on your iOS device before you go, or pick up one of the iPod touches at the ticket desk. This will be your guide through the collection.

Well worth your time in Cincinnati.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    96
    37
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Know your History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went there over the summer and was surprised the things I did not know about slavery. Cincinnati as a major stop on the Underground Railroad it's the perfect place. It also has a nice chronological time line tracing our roots through the civil war.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Informative History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you think you know a little something about slavery and issues surrounding the subject, think again. I am former diversity and black history teacher and thought I knew alot about the subjects. But, going through the center broadened my knowledge through its impressive array of artifacts and information. The center helps bring new meaning towards understanding a subject that most of us know very little about either because of shame or history "lost, stolen, or strayed."

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Costly for what it promises. I didn't take much in the way of history away that I didn't already know. What staff we encountered acted as though they had better places to be.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were members for a while. Very unique museum you have to see at least once in your life. It's very sad but so important.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Underground Railroad Freedom Center also viewed

 

Been to National Underground Railroad Freedom Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.