We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic value for America's game!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Ball Park

Great American Ball Park
100 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-765-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 129 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This new home for the Cincinnati Reds, the oldest major league baseball team in the U.S., balances its spiffy new look with nostalgic tributes to the team's history including reminders of Crosley Field, where it all began.
Central Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a fantastic value for America's game!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Okay, so I'm a New Englander and therefore a requisite Red Sox fan. Have been to the storied Fenway Park many times and have always had a good time. I've also been to several other MLB parks.

I must say that this park tops them ALL. What an incredible value! At Fenway, you pay through the nose for uncomfortable seats with crummy views of the field. Here at the Great American Ballpark, we paid a ridiculously low amount of $27 each for GREAT seats overlooking the first base line. We could see all the action. Not to mention, parking nearby was free, with only a $1 bus fare. (you're lucky to get $20 parking in Boston)

We enjoyed fireworks after the Friday night game (which the Reds won, against the Padres, yay!).

Will definitely make a point to see another Reds game on our next visit to KY/OH!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    341
    50
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such a fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went to the dodger reds game this past weekend and had a great time. Reasonably priced ballpark food and drinks fun family atmosphere and loved that the mascots were out taking pictures with fans.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Took a tour and it was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We took a tour of the ballpark and it was amazing. We went into the media center. We went in the millionaires club then we went onto the field and into the dugouts we got to visit almost the entire park it was awesome and im not even a baseball fan definately if you go to the hall of fame buy a ticket for a tour

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Cardinals Fan Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A required stop for baseball fans, Great American Ballpark is much like most ballparks constructed during the modern era--great sight lines, relatively comfortable seating, sufficient restrooms, and a variety of concessions.

Among the original cities for Major League Baseball, Cincinnati has very devoted and knowledgeable fans--so the emphasis during games is actually ON baseball and not as much glitz as some ballparks (I'm primarily thinking of my home Arizona ballpark that has to entertain people with non-baseball material). The biggest surprise for this Cardinals fans was the relative emptiness of the stadium--this was during the last month of the regular season with a red hot division race going on between bitter rivals, and the stadium was only half filled for both games I saw!

If you're visiting from out of town, the stadium is very accessible and is easy walking distance from any of the downtown Cincinnati hotels... or even many of the hotels on the south side of the Ohio river.

Also, be sure to visit the Red Hall of Fame right next to the park and add the stadium tour to see behind the scenes at Great American Ballpark. It's more than worth the admission price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the better National League ballparks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and wanted to check out how the other half lived. We're Seattle Mariners fans and have gone to games when the Reds were in our town, so we felt that we should see them on their home turf. The beat the Cards good on the day that we went, We didn't get there in time for the free beer mugs that they gave out the the first 20,000 fans, but hey, its was a Holiday and a mug with pictures of Reds' players would just collect dust on the shelf with us.

Our seats were much better than we expected sitting in Row P since they start with Row J out in our Section 136. And the price was right with the discount since it was German Heritage Day, which applied to us. The locals sitting behind us were in Germany customs and they invited us to check out the HofBrauHaus located just across the river behind the stadium in Newport, KY.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Ball Park also viewed

 

Been to Great American Ball Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Ball Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.