We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardinals Fan Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Ball Park

Great American Ball Park
100 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-765-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This new home for the Cincinnati Reds, the oldest major league baseball team in the U.S., balances its spiffy new look with nostalgic tributes to the team's history including reminders of Crosley Field, where it all began.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Cardinals Fan Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A required stop for baseball fans, Great American Ballpark is much like most ballparks constructed during the modern era--great sight lines, relatively comfortable seating, sufficient restrooms, and a variety of concessions.

Among the original cities for Major League Baseball, Cincinnati has very devoted and knowledgeable fans--so the emphasis during games is actually ON baseball and not as much glitz as some ballparks (I'm primarily thinking of my home Arizona ballpark that has to entertain people with non-baseball material). The biggest surprise for this Cardinals fans was the relative emptiness of the stadium--this was during the last month of the regular season with a red hot division race going on between bitter rivals, and the stadium was only half filled for both games I saw!

If you're visiting from out of town, the stadium is very accessible and is easy walking distance from any of the downtown Cincinnati hotels... or even many of the hotels on the south side of the Ohio river.

Also, be sure to visit the Red Hall of Fame right next to the park and add the stadium tour to see behind the scenes at Great American Ballpark. It's more than worth the admission price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    253
    38
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the better National League ballparks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and wanted to check out how the other half lived. We're Seattle Mariners fans and have gone to games when the Reds were in our town, so we felt that we should see them on their home turf. The beat the Cards good on the day that we went, We didn't get there in time for the free beer mugs that they gave out the the first 20,000 fans, but hey, its was a Holiday and a mug with pictures of Reds' players would just collect dust on the shelf with us.

Our seats were much better than we expected sitting in Row P since they start with Row J out in our Section 136. And the price was right with the discount since it was German Heritage Day, which applied to us. The locals sitting behind us were in Germany customs and they invited us to check out the HofBrauHaus located just across the river behind the stadium in Newport, KY.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The weekend of Sept 6 and 7th, we were privileged to be part of the Joe Morgan weekend. What a wonderful weekend! Being the huge Reds fans that we are we had a wonderful time! The park is always clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and it is always well organized. Even with the extra events going on things ran smoothly. We can't wait to go back again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thanks to Skyline for our Tickets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Sunday night game had it all! Home runs, excitement, fireworks, giveaways and a bottom of the 9th play at the plate to finish with a Reds win! Great time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Dodger Fan Visiting Cincinnati!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved the stadium! Nice area in and around the outside of the stadium. Not a bad seat in the house. Great views behind right field, across the river to Kentucky. Very nice family atmosphere. Lots of food choices, the bratwurst was delicious. Getting in and out of area by car not so easy. Very small congested streets. But overall we had a great time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Ball Park also viewed

 

Been to Great American Ball Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Ball Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.