We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the Reds baby !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Ball Park

Great American Ball Park
100 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-765-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This new home for the Cincinnati Reds, the oldest major league baseball team in the U.S., balances its spiffy new look with nostalgic tributes to the team's history including reminders of Crosley Field, where it all began.
Midwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's the Reds baby !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm an avid, die-hard Reds fan for the last 40 years, and was dissapointed when they finally tore down the old Riverfront stadium. However, after attending several games at Great American Ball Park, I think its a much nicer stadium, and the excitement is still there, Ater all, its the Reds baby .. and the team has firmly established themselves in the rich history of the game of baseball. The view of riverboats cruising the mighty Ohio River while watching an afternoon game is fantastic, and there's not a bad seat in the stadium. Kudos to the architects.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    253
    38
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice Park!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stopped by to watch our Phillies play the Reds and had a great time. Granted the rain delayed the start and ended the game in the 8th we had a great time. We sat in Dugout Box 114 Row: C. Wow what great seats. We had full view of the dugout what I think are the best seats in the house. Parking was not to bad and was well priced. We parked under a bridge on the 3rd base side of the park for I think $15 or $20..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent National League ballpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to say that the National League is close to my heart, and I have always had a spot in my heart for the old Riverfront. However, I think I am in love wit the Great American Ball Park. When you walk into the Home Base gate, the field opens up before you. The concession choices are great (especially the Kahn's hot dogs and Frisch's). The team store is really big and has a good selection.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Look at All that Red”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great American Ballpark doesn't get many accolades. You'll be hard-pressed to find GABP in the Top 10 or even Top 15 of any ballpark ranking article or blog. The park lacks the architectural beauty of many of its breathren. Yet, having visited Great American Ballpark on 2 separate occasions, I cannot help but like it for its many quirks and excellent seating.

Set on the banks of the Ohio River just on the outskirts of downtown Cincinnatti, GABP definitely keeps with a river theme. The river can be viewed from the entire upper deck; though the river doesn't have a lot of robust traffic, there is something very peaceful about watching a barge amble lazily along your line of vision while watching a game. The park features "smokestacks" similar to those of a riverboat which emit some smoke when the Reds hit a home run. There is a party deck on top of the batter's eye in center field that resembles a boat, as well.

It's good that Great American Ballpark has such architectural quirks since most of the park ranges from odd to kind of ugly. The exterior is pretty non-descript with a puzzling mixture of styles: there is brick to evoke nostalgia a la most of the "retro" parks combined with a lot of exposed white steel and glass. It's as if the designers couldn't decide to go retro, modern, or somewhere in between. Though there is a riverwalk outside the park, it is lightly used since there aren't any points of interest or parking along the river. Despite its proximity to downtown Cincy, the park feels removed from the area since you have to cross a major road to reach the park from downtown. The result is a setting that isn't terribly dynamic.

Inside the stadium, the first thing that will hit you are all the red seats. It's a nice touch and contrasts brilliantly with the green field. The quirkiness of the ballpark can be found in a few more architectural touches: there is the "Gap", a section of the ballpark behind home plate that is removed, allowing rather insignificant views of the nearby skyscrapers. However, the Gap does allow the upper deck seats in that area to be angled towards the field, allowing for some of the best seats in GABP. The back wall beyond the right field seats also increases in height for some odd reason, giving the park an overall assymetrical feel.

However, these quirks give the park a certain charm, IMO. It's far from classically beautiful, but maybe that's what I like about it. GABP is not a particularly big park, so you can walk around the concourse pretty quickly - the concourse is open and there are many nice places to watch the game. The smallness of the park makes the seats feel VERY close to the action; the Sun/Moon Deck in right field feels as if you're sitting right next to the right fielder and even the upper deck feels close to the action.

I didn't find as much variety with the concessions as other parks, but the quality was overall very good, including one of my favorite MLB items: the Big Red Char Dog - grilled to the point of being slightly burnt, this was one tasty hot dog. Other tasty treats included BBQ from a nearby establishment and the Coney.

Definitely check out the Reds Hall of Fame, too; I didn't like the idea of paying extra for it, but it's worthwhile and proudly displays the Reds rich tradition.

While GABP is nowhere near the top of the list of best MLB parks, it has its own character that I find rather appealing and likable.

Best Seats: The Mezzanine section in the upper deck next to the "Gap" offers great views of the game and river beyond right field. The Sun/Moon Deck is also a favorite.

Best Food: I have fond memories of that Charred Dog

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice stadium!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Great American Ball Park has a really nice setting. It's on the Ohio River, and has a walking path overlooking the river. The employees I encountered were very nice and helpful. There's a good variety of foods, including ball park favorites as well as some more unusual items. Lots of vendors walking the aisles during the game, and the beer guy was really nice and chatted with me while he served the gentleman next to me several times throughout the game.

My seat wasn't bad, but wasn't great. There were 9 drink holders in our row for 11 seats. The seats weren't arranged that well, meaning I had to lean left or right depending on whether I wanted to see the pitcher or catcher (couldn't see both). Couldn't see all of the scoreboard because of the overhanging upper deck.

Food was good, and I was glad to see they offered a "veggie dog," which was actually the best veggie dog I've ever had. However, food prices were a little excessive... $10 for a large drink, with no free or reduced price refills.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Ball Park also viewed

 

Been to Great American Ball Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Ball Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.