We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Ball Park

Great American Ball Park
100 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-765-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This new home for the Cincinnati Reds, the oldest major league baseball team in the U.S., balances its spiffy new look with nostalgic tributes to the team's history including reminders of Crosley Field, where it all began.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Parking and getting in are reasonably priced. We heard the food there was expensive, so we brought in our own cooler (small and softsided) on a very hot day. After watching people pay a ton of money for drinks in the stands I was very glad we did that. Not many bad seats in the place. The security guy behind the dugout was kinda in a rush to go home after the game. He was shooing away a family who was getting a photo just ten minutes after the game was over. They were obviously going to just get a photo and then be on their way, but he was determined to get them out of the park. Fortunately, another security person close by talked him into taking the photo of the family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    253
    38
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ballpark and they want you to have a good time, lots to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I grew up with the stuffy, generic Riverfront Stadium, this ballpark is fun! You feel excitement and like you are going to have a goodtime even walking from the parking lot. I love the name too and thank Great American Insurance for their sponsorship. I am also glad they honored Joe Nuxhall...while he was still alive with his notable quote on the side of the building for any one on the interstates to see..."rounding third and heading for home..." This park has great seats everywhere, lots of activites for families, and if you are a first timer to the park you can even have them print up a certificate with your name on it. We always do this for the kids the first time they experience the ballpark. Wonderful job by all.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm in the midst of a multi-year "quest" to attend a game in all the MLB parks, just got back from a trip to Cincy & Pittsburgh. This ballpark is fine, but nothing special. In fact, it just seems a bit...sterile? Could be I'm unfairly comparing to our previous evening in Pittsburgh, but GAB doesn't compare well.

Good: Seats are reasonable. Sight lines are good. The actual fans (more to come on that) who attended the game were knowledgeable & a lot of fun to sit with. Easy mass transit access to the park. Reds hall of fame museum is very nice.

Not so good: The whole place is just kind of...uninteresting. Almost sterile. The food choices are VERY poor (at least down the 3rd base concourse) & it's bland, even by ballpark standards. If it's sausage shaped, or pizza, you're in business. Anything else?? Not so much. Worst part, though, is the sheer number of people walking up and down the aisles. Seems like a lot of folks came to wander up and down the aisles, as opposed to....ya know...watching the game. Even the vendors failed to kneel down when making a sale, which is standard practice. You're going to always have some of this, but this was WAY too much. It's a non smoking facility, but the bathrooms were crammed with people hiding in the stalls, puffing up a storm. Last 2 issues would have been helped a lot, with some action by ushers & security (as in other ballparks).

Not a great time at the old ballpark.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best ballpark in usa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

great place. sit club level on 1st base line. had awesome seats. Best event staff ive ever seen GO REDS!!!!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pour rain but had a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Goodness did it ever rain during the game, we got absolutely soaked and that is not a great thing given there isn't quite enough rain shelter for everyone in the park but it was SO much fun. The seats were awesome and reasonably priced, the food is pretty good and they have a stand with a bunch of really inexpensive things like $1 hotdogs, icecream and drinks geared towards large families. I can't wait to take my future kids there someday, expecially with the kids zone activities they have.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Ball Park also viewed

 

Been to Great American Ball Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Ball Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.