We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Dog Cafe

Green Dog Cafe
3543 Columbia Pkwy, Cincinnati, OH 45226-2108
513-321-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 1,782 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Family Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food and nice atmosphere for families with young ones to visit. Menu is very accomodating for our toddler with allergies, the ambiance allows our toddler to be himself, and the food is always a hit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
1 review
“Eclectic menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our family enjoys the numerous menu choices and fresh ingredients. If you have a chance sit in the pleasant outdoor dining area. Jeni's ice cream is a great dessert choice as well as giant home-made cookies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here is delicious and healthy. I personally don't go for the "fast food walk up to counter to order" style. Then a wait staff delivers your food but doesn't service the table at all. I found it confusing as to what type of tipping, if any would be appropriate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“green dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Healthy fresh food. Ice cream from Jeni's in Columbus and homemade poppy seed bread are great. My favorite is the chihuahua bowl.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Veggie friendly and fresh cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you've been to any of the Northstars in Columbus, Green Dog will be very familiar to you. It's an almost identical concept - line up at the counter to order, food is brought out to you, minimalist design, and an emphasis on locally-sourced ingredients with a lot of vegetarian friendly dishes. They even have magazines for you to read. (I believe the similarities to Northstar are not a rip-off: I recall reading when GD first opened that they'd consulted with the NS owners. So it's more of an homage).

I've been here a number of times for all three meals, and liked my food every time. This may be heresy for my fellow Columbusites, but I like GD's veggie burger better than the vaunted NS one.

Yes, if you see the counter ordering and thus expect a price point that is like Chipotle or Panera, Green Dog will seem expensive. But I feel the prices are
reasonable for the quality and quantity of food you get.

It's a little off the beaten-path for most tourists, in a newly-developed strip mall in Columbia-Tusculum. But well worth a visit if you're on the east side of town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Green Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.