We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is located in the newer up-and-coming area of restaurants/bars in Cincinnati. It has great outdoor seating that is covered so you get to experience the day, yet not be completely subject to all of the elements of the weather e.g. the hot sun. The view of the bridge and water is also really quite nice. It doesn't feel like you're in Cincinnati.

The food and interior of the restaurant were very nice as well. I went with a group of work folks so we got a private room upstairs. The service was also quite good. The menu featured a good range of food choices from soups to salads to seafood/meats to desserts.

I heard that this is one of the few places that is uniquely Cincinnati from a beer brewing perspective. So if you're into beer, this could be another reason to try this place out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    143
    133
    40
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Little Kings Alive and Well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

To my surprise, Little Kings are alive and well in Cincinnati. I will probably catch some heat for this but when I was a wild young man, I could nail a roadside sign, at 60 mph, from the drivers seat, with an empty Little Kings bottle, while driving. I know, you sure shouldn't brag about that, but it's my sentimental journey and I really enjoyed reminiscing, while drinking a few of these fine beers. If you didn't grow up here, you won't understand. Hudy Delight, Wiedemann, specialty beers? They are now, but were not on the food chain when I grew up, cheap beers. This place was packed, looked like cougar night on a saturday night. The food is excellent, super view of river, city lights and right next to both stadiums.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great place but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Christian Moerlein Lager House is located across the street from the Great American Ballpark right on the Cincinnati waterfront. With a location like this you can't miss...almost. The view was great, the beer was great, the food was great, the service was great but the noise level was unbearable! It was a din in there. We were there for dinner about 6:15 on a non-baseball night and you couldn't hear yourself think. Any conversation with dinner guests was nearly impossible. The problem is that there are too many hard surfaces surrounding the patrons especially overhead. It's like eating in an echo chamber.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We like beer, and this place had good beer. Also good food, and a great view. Strongly recommend if you are in Cincinnati and like beer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Yummy and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the food, loved the atmosphere and the view. We both had the Moerlein Burger, it was super good. The sweet potato chips where tasty, but a bit bland. They had a great crunch to them. We also had onion rings as an appetizer and it was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.