We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,727 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We like beer, and this place had good beer. Also good food, and a great view. Strongly recommend if you are in Cincinnati and like beer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    135
    126
    40
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Yummy and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the food, loved the atmosphere and the view. We both had the Moerlein Burger, it was super good. The sweet potato chips where tasty, but a bit bland. They had a great crunch to them. We also had onion rings as an appetizer and it was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Brewery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm not a beer drinker, but they were offering free tours at Taste of Cincy, so we went. Best tour I've been on, definitely more historical/architectural than your average tour. The guides were great and had a lot of knowledge to impart. Very, very cool. The architecture was the best part!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Average but neat place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

One busy place after a reds game - definitely get reservations! That being said cant say I was bowled over. The wife had the BBQ pork but found it way too spicy. It came with sautéed green beans but no mention on menu of them having maple on them (surprise sweet!). I had the prime rib which was tender but very dry. I chose the Parmesan risotto as my side and it wasn't cooked and was basically tasteless. Dessert was a saving grace as the chocolate s'more cake was the best part of the meal. It's a neat place in a cool location so I would tell you to give it a try but ask your server if you're unsure about what's on the menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great White North
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It's time for Moerlein's finest beer to be on tap, that would be Saengerfest, a Maibock, as delicious as ever. This large casual-themed restaurant is efficiently operated and its kitchen continues to turn out terrific food from and across an ambitious menu.

We had a recent dinner on the lower level at a river-view table with an outstanding waiter, Zach! He was very accommodating to all of our requests, and the service was generally crisp, unobtrusive, and efficient. We're pushin' beer here, so water is served only on request, but comes quickly when ordered. You can get your own, 'table-appropriate' 4-pull mini tap if you are serious beer samplers or thirsty enough, a nice touch that adds to having a good time.

Our table ordered excellent Caesar salads, generous, crisp, delicious dressing. The steak frites was so good no tastes were offered to the other diners at table; salmon was moist and flavorful, and the burger I had was custom-fixed with some toppings subtracted and others added to create in my opinion a perfect dish! Our caramel dessert was the perfect ender, just enough when split several ways to satisfy without destroying the next morning's visit to the scales!

Only problem: everyone way-flunked the "how much was the bill" contest, it was 20% LOWER than our lowest guess. If this is the only thing that goes wrong on your evening, as it was for ours, I think you can handle it.

Another new Cincinnati restaurant where it can be honestly said "Go, you will not be disappointed!"

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.