We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food...and Brews Too...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,782 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Sanford, NC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great Food...and Brews Too...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a fun place to eat. There was food to please anyone's tastes! Seafood, Ribs, Meatloaf, Chicken, Steaks, Pork...and our group of six tried six different entrees and there were raves from each of us! Several of our group tried different Lagers, and they really enjoyed their choices. The location next to the Red's stadium is very easy to find and usually means the place is packed...but with the Reds out of town, we were able to get a table. The service was outstanding...the atmosphere equally so...parking is abundant in a parking deck located under the restaurant...cost us $7 for the time we were eating. I recommend you try and get a table next the windows on the river side for some super views while you eat.

Price-wise...they have items from inexpensive to expensive...you can eat cheap..or break the bank if you desire the high-priced entrees. The onion rings are GREAT!! Families with children are certainly welcome...but I can imagine there could be times when some parents might not be comfortable having their children at the restaurant.

Certainly a must place to eat when you are in Cincinnati...but probably easier to try on a night when there are no Red's games.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    188
    45
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Let's Try Again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was our fault to begin with. We went to the Morelein Lager House on a Saturday Evening for dinner on a friends birthday. There was one available table in the 1st come 1st serve seating section, and the wait for a group of 15 would have been hours.
The beer was good. I enjoy the variety in Morelein's portfolio. If you are adventurous enough to climb the steps, you'll also find several other quality craft beers unrelated to Morelein.
The dining areas are spacious and clean but turn to elbow room once the happy hour crowd appears. The floor to ceiling windows offer a great view of the river, the bridges, and Newport, KY.
Before I describe my dinner experience, I'd like to state that most of our party ordered burgers and raved about them through the evening. My wife and I did not have such an experience. NEVER ORDER THE SHRIMP CAESAR FLATBREAD! First of all, it was not enough to feed two. Secondly, when the bread cooled down it became rock hard. Lastly, the toppings were shrimp and lettuce drisled with Caesar dressing. A buddy of mine was kind enough to offer me a bite of his meatloaf, though, which had a very unique barbecue base.
I definitely recommend that you give the Morelein House a shot, as I'm looking forward to giving it another. Plan ahead, though, or you'll be very hungry, waiting, and dealing with a crowd.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good view of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We liked the history of the place. The food was good. We had a difficult time getting our group of 10 seated together. It was crazy busy due to the Reds playing. We ended up getting two tables one of 4 and one of 6. Yet there were other tables that could have been put together to accommodate us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Fun Food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The beer is great. the service was outstanding. The food was really solid. they took the Ahi Tuna Sandwich off the menu which was a mistake, but there are still plenty of strong items that remain.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OH MY GOSH AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place was very good, in fact one of my favorites!The service was excellent.The food was good especially the breakfast pizza.It was loud but everything else was amazing.The view was awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.