We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy on Wednesday Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,657 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Busy on Wednesday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had dinner with customers on Wednesday and everyone was quite satisfied. The downstairs though was loud and on a return trip I would request reservations upstairs. It was a surprise to see how crowded they were in the middle of the week! There was plenty of staff and service was excellent. I would not recommend the Paella, it was the only time I have ever had it in the US and it was a surprise that they would have it on the menu. It was more of an interpretation of the dish and did not compare to what I was accustom too.

Valet parking is offered or you can pay to park in the garage underneath.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    193
    45
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant with a few friends and were very impressed.

We had reservations and had to wait about 15 minutes beyond our time after standing in a long line to speak to the hostess. There were probably 20 people standing in line with us. At 6 pm this place was very crowded and loud. Fortunately, we were seated on the second floor with a great view of the riverfront.

Our server was great, he was prompt and gave us good explanations and his recommendations were excellent. As expected, the beer was excellent, especially the Emancipator double bock. We had a meat and cheese tray for which you were able to choose your options, all very good. My wife had the blackened tilapia and I the Tampico shrimp, both were excellent.

Overall we were not sure what to expect of the quality of food but we both came away very impressed. We will certainly visit again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I was here for tthe beer but,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was also excellent. Had the Beer can chicken sandwich with sweet potato chips. Better than expected. The beer was really good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Cincinnati for work recently and this place was recommended by the hotel front desk.
It is in the new hip section of town called The Banks, in between the two stadium. The food was awesome, the building is very well designed, and the beers are great. I would recommend it to anyone that appreciates good food in a cool (not stuffy) atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“New jewel of Cincinnati?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While recently visiting Cincinnati we had the chance to visit Moerlein Lager House, have to say we came away impressed. The restaurant offers great views of the city and a sophisticated brewpub atmosphere. I would recommend calling ahead for dinner reservations as we did on a Saturday night. It is obviously very popular already. Our server was very personable and helpful in describing the beers and entree selections. The Pork Belly entree was exceptional, but everyone at our table was pleased with their selections. Loved the beer, but be prepared to pay sophisticated brewpub prices. We did have a large group and they did tack on an automatic 20% gratuity, but in this case it was well deserved. We hope to return sometime soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.