We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the beer and atmosphere - eat somewhere else!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,722 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
kentucky
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Go for the beer and atmosphere - eat somewhere else!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

You'll think you're in Seattle or Vancouver by the interior but instead, you're looking out on the Ohio River. The atmosphere is exceptional - especially for a place in Ohio, and the staff is pretty friendly. The beer (especially the OTR) is excellent. I recommend getting a sampler of 3 different beers. I have been here now four times... I always order food, hoping that my biting reviews all over websites would get the chef to change, but evidently, he (or she) is very stubborn with taste buds that are dead. Trouble is - the food all tastes like somebody sneaked into the kitchen and threw WAY too much hot peppers into everything to PUNK the diners. Don't get me wrong - I regularly eat Indian and Thai food and I like spicy - but there's a big difference between spicy and food that's practically inedible. It's not like they have to make it that way to get people to drink more beer - that's a given because the beer's so good. Too bad the food has consistently been disappointing - and OVER SPICED...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    142
    41
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Quiet on a cold mid week night in January, service was fast and friendly. I can imagine it being very busy if there was a game on at the adjacent ball park or nearby football stadium. Food was tasty and a good range of beers to choose from as well. Will definitely go there again next time I visit.
Two notes, my gps brought me to a point about a block short of the restaurant. When you turn right off 2nd St E go one block further south towards the river. Also don't be fooled by their valet parking go round the corner on to W Mehring Way and you will find a large underground parking garage for half the price with stairs that exit out right by the entrance to Morlein.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I went on a busy saturday night and there was a 45 minute wait, so we found seats at the upstairs bar. The bartenders all worked together as a team, and were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable about the beer, and generally just really great! They didn't bother us, but didn't ignore us. They even had poured a beer for a table by accident and ended up giving it to us on the house. We ordered the Caprese flatbread, which was a great price, large, and very good. We also got the Parmasean Garlic Fries which were FANTASTIC...i'm craving them right now. They were served with Ketchup and two different sauces, and we got the beer cheese to go along with them. I highly recommend the fries. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seven couples had a great time. The food was good but not exceptional. It is definitely a beer lovers place to dine. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Biggest disappointment was the sweet potatoe chips-totally bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beer, and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great architecture. Sit up stairs for a better atmosphere and a view. Awesome food! Great Beer. Nice staff. Kid friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.