We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,721 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Quiet on a cold mid week night in January, service was fast and friendly. I can imagine it being very busy if there was a game on at the adjacent ball park or nearby football stadium. Food was tasty and a good range of beers to choose from as well. Will definitely go there again next time I visit.
Two notes, my gps brought me to a point about a block short of the restaurant. When you turn right off 2nd St E go one block further south towards the river. Also don't be fooled by their valet parking go round the corner on to W Mehring Way and you will find a large underground parking garage for half the price with stairs that exit out right by the entrance to Morlein.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    130
    122
    39
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I went on a busy saturday night and there was a 45 minute wait, so we found seats at the upstairs bar. The bartenders all worked together as a team, and were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable about the beer, and generally just really great! They didn't bother us, but didn't ignore us. They even had poured a beer for a table by accident and ended up giving it to us on the house. We ordered the Caprese flatbread, which was a great price, large, and very good. We also got the Parmasean Garlic Fries which were FANTASTIC...i'm craving them right now. They were served with Ketchup and two different sauces, and we got the beer cheese to go along with them. I highly recommend the fries. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seven couples had a great time. The food was good but not exceptional. It is definitely a beer lovers place to dine. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Biggest disappointment was the sweet potatoe chips-totally bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beer, and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great architecture. Sit up stairs for a better atmosphere and a view. Awesome food! Great Beer. Nice staff. Kid friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“View, drinks and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

For great view and romantic ambiance - sit upstairs. If there is a wait, sit at the bar up there - it's nice too and different from the main floor. The main floor is like a loud sports bar and doesn't have the view. History is great, loved the wall murals and we bought souvenirs. The beer was good, and the signature drinks were great. We didn't really ear here - just ate french fries which were good. There were several bartenders sharing the load - and 3 out of 4 were great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.