We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,658 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seven couples had a great time. The food was good but not exceptional. It is definitely a beer lovers place to dine. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Biggest disappointment was the sweet potatoe chips-totally bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    204
    47
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beer, and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great architecture. Sit up stairs for a better atmosphere and a view. Awesome food! Great Beer. Nice staff. Kid friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“View, drinks and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

For great view and romantic ambiance - sit upstairs. If there is a wait, sit at the bar up there - it's nice too and different from the main floor. The main floor is like a loud sports bar and doesn't have the view. History is great, loved the wall murals and we bought souvenirs. The beer was good, and the signature drinks were great. We didn't really ear here - just ate french fries which were good. There were several bartenders sharing the load - and 3 out of 4 were great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food was very good--and so was the beer selection. The view of the water is great. Location right next to the baseball stadium would be great before or after baseball games (though I assume it would be very crowded before/after baseball games)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Find For Beer & Food Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I were first time visitors to Cincinnati over the Christmas Break. We were in town to attend a football game and decided to spend a few days enjoying the city. Since we had been told that the Riverfront had seen a lot of renovations we chose to walk down to see what it had for dinner. My husband is a HUGE beer aficionado so the prospect of dining at a lager house was a delight for him. He was absolutely not disappointed. Though we did wait a very long time to get a table, it was well worth it. We were very lucky to have Dave as our server and he was absolutely outstanding. Not only was he well versed in the menu, but his knowledge of the dozens and dozens of beers available was marvelous. He had absolutely perfect timing as a server and, though the restaurant was packed, we never felt rushed or forgotten. Dave took the time to discuss the details of the beers with my husband and even brought a few small tasters for my husband to try so as he could make the appropriate choices for his palate as the night went on.
Our meals were fresh and very tasty. The menu provides a good variety to meet whatever you might be in the mood for. Though it is a lager house, the mixed cocktails were also very good. The portions were far too large to finish but the take-away made excellent leftovers.
My husband and I love to travel and are foodies. We have the occasion to meet many servers. Dave has a passion for what he does and excels at it. He is an asset to the restaurant and a gem for diners who have the chance to meet him. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant and look forward to another trip to Cincinnati so we can stop in here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.