We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
115 Joe Nuxhall Way, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,721 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Alexandria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun time, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seated with a party of 13 after a Bengals game. Service was surprisingly good despite the number of full tables. A little noisy, but that was ok due to the happy post-game crowd.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    130
    122
    39
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Perfect way to top off our day in Cincinnati! This place is an establishment! Terrific views of the Ohio River, Kentucky, and surrounding areas. The food was top notch (and not too expensive either) and the service was perfect. We chose to sit outside and enjoy the unseasonably warm November evening. Definitely coming back the next time we're in Cincinnati!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food here was superb on the day I went. Excellent drink selection too. I had a quality cider, which quenched my thirst after another murderously hot day.
The wait staff was friendly and helpful, and service was quick and efficient. A view of the Ohio River and Roebling Bridge is to be had from the huge plate glass windows. There is also a table-filled balcony, if alfresco dining should take your fancy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Beer-Lover's Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My first trip to the Moerlein Lager House. Went with guys - family/friends - the night of the UC-XU Crosstown Classic basketball game which was played "next door", so we were zapped with $20 parking, totally a rip-off. But that's another story.

The beer selection is awesome, with nine craft beers from which to choose. Too many for one safe evening! Gotta go back!

We were there for at dinner time, but with no wives there to keep control, were able to attack the junque food, The appetizer list has buffalo wings, calamari, crab cakes, cheesy-fries and more; and something called the Meat & Cheese Boards. We were easily able to make dinner-for-four from this part of the menu. And was it good! All of it! Every bit of it! The calamari was not the huge portion of heavily-breaded deep-fried style everyone else has for calamari. Light, with an aoli sauce and delish! The crab cake was all? mostly all? crab. The meats and cheeses - and goetta - were very, very tasty too.

Next time - we'll have to grow up and get into the actual dinner menu, and I expect there will be taste treats waiting for our return.

Service was excellent, especially considering the huge basketball crowd. Our beer orders were refreshed in good time, and the junque food was delivered promptly and hot/cold as was proper. Noise level was rather high, and I suspect would be on the high side even with a lesser crowd. But - we'll find out another day.

It all ties together with a beautiful view of Cincinnati's new riverfront area, which increased in charm as a short December day turned into evening.....and I know why many people are moving back into the city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Addition to the Riverfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have been remiss for not providing this earlier. My daughter and I went here after a Reds game. Hostess; Service; Food & Beverage were very good. Wide variety on the menu; something for everyone.
Highly recommend this spot when you are downtown; after a game; or just milling around town.
This is the type of spot that was lacking for many years on the Riverfront between the stadiums; personally I am glad to see it has arrived. Patronize this establishment, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moerlein Lager House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.