We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Belgium - OTR

Taste of Belgium - OTR
1133 Vine St., Cincinnati, OH 45202
+1 513-381-4607
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,725 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Taste of Belgium serves Belgian food with a twist. If it's not Belgian, we "Belgianize" it. We serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and one-of-a-kind weekend brunch. We have a full bar and a wide selection of Belgian beers on draft and in bottle. And we serve the absolute best waffles.
san clemente, ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Sweet and savory, such a wonderful combination for the Chicken & Waffle. Seasoning and hot sauce on the chicken, paired with the Ohio maple syrup on the waffle make for a palette pleasing entree. We also had the vegetable crepe with balsamic vinegar (reduction) and goat cheese, which proved to be another sumptuous choice. We were there on a busy Saturday morning and had excellent service. The restaurant is a "must" if you are near downtown Cincinnati!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    55
    30
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best new addition to Cincinnati's downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Small, crowded, noisy, unforgettable, wonderful, and highly addictive.
This place is on a downtown corner that used to be a very shady neighborhood until a couple of years ago, but is now a terrific trendy location. Everyone seems to know about it, and they don't take reservations, so definitely be prepared for a wait. As much as that can be annoying, the wait is worth it, without a doubt.

A great selection of most of the classic Belgian beers, including a number of them on draft. The bartenders and servers are knowledgeable enough about their inventory that you can generally rely on their recommendations if you're not familiar with them.

I've been to Belgium many times, so I can vouch for the authenticity of the menu. Honestly, I have to say the mussels (moules) are among the best I have ever had! The carbonnade (beef stew) is also an absolute standout (even if a little over-salted). They have crammed the absolute maximum number of tables into this small space, and could probably do a little more to absorb some of the noise (it's VERY loud), but that's my only real complaint.

With a friendly, knowledgable, eager-to-please staff, a standout menu, and great Belgian beer, how could you possibly go wrong? Answer: you won't. Give this place a high ranking on your list of dining experiences when visiting Cincinnati.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't wait for this restaurant to open up. The chicken and waffles are off the chain. Sweet and spicy at the same time. The cucumber salad Really sets this dish off. There are many outstanding items on the menu to chose from. The bakery case also has several very good items to pick. Call and check the hours, but easy to find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went to lunch this week at Belgian Bistro and absolutely loved it! The staff is super friendly yet professional and the food was delicious. I had the waffle and chicken ($13) and it was really good- the sweet and spicy sauce on the chicken was a flavor explosion. I also enjoyed the house white wine ($6). There is a full bar as well. The place was bustling on a Tuesday afternoon and I can see why! I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois F, Owner at Taste of Belgium - OTR, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I'm really happy to read that you enjoyed our Bistro.

best regards,

Jean-Francois Flechet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleve, ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the chicken and waffles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food and they recommend some great beer choices to go along with your breakfast or lunch. All the entrees we have tried in the past 2 times we have been there were absolutely scrumptious! Always crowded so plan accordingly. Right downtown so there is a corner parking lot. I would recommend trying it during the day, don't know this part of Cincinnati . There are 2 restaurants downtown with the same name. Be sure you go to the one with indoor seating and beer selections and chicken and waffles!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois F, Owner at Taste of Belgium - OTR, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I'm really glad to read you enjoyed our restaurant.

Regards,

Jean-François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium - OTR also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Belgium - OTR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Belgium - OTR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.