We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ, poor side dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
3313 Riverside Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1012
513-533-1957
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 1,702 restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, poor side dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went on a sunday mid afternoon. I got the pulled pork sandwich and my husband got the turkey. both sandwiches were the best we ever had as far as bbq. On the down side the side dishes were average and nothing to rave about. The soda we had was not cold and room temperature. There is no ice machine so glasses of ices are not available. this is a small place with dinning outside in the summer months. worth the trip for BBQ.

They only take cash or check so make sure you have cash. Two sandwiches, four sides and two sodas cost 20.00 even. a little steep for a late lunch but worth the money for the sandwich. It is self service. When you walk in go straight to the back registers and order your meal. If you are dinning inside they will bring it to your table. You clean up after yourself. The people working there are friendly enough but it is self service.

They put coleslaw on the sandwich. I think that makes the taste of the sandwich but some people dont like slaw and it might change the taste a bit for them. Either way we enjoyed our meal but was disappointed in the sides and drinks.

Try it out yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    71
    28
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the delicious pork sanwiches, ribs, jalepeno corn bread to the funky picnic-style BYOB eating area...this place rocks! We saw tons of families and enjoyed an eclectic crowd there too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ - a Hidden Treasure in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

"Wow!" is about as good as I can say. I'm not a huge BBQ fan, but this stuff is fantastic. Small menu, which is good. The wood smoker left an awesome taste on the pulled pork. Cole slaw is great, and the mashed potatoes are served in a paper dish, with just a hint of a crust on top of them. Yum !! BYOB unless you like Mexican Coke. The y do have a few assorted beverages, but if your looking for a beer to go with the meal, best to bring your own. Crowd is an eclectic mix of college, families, even dressed to the 9's professionals on this night. Outside seating at picnic tables was the norm. Small 2 man band entertained outside while you enjoyed the food. They do have a small amount of inside seating. You would describe the place as a real hole in the wall. But my experience has always been that these are the absolute best restaurants and the hidden gems that few people know about. They have been voted Best of Cincy a couple of years for their BBQ, and I can see why. Expect a wait if you get there at dinner time. They do have call ahead. They also have carry out, and can prepare a large amount of BBQ if you're planning a family or company picnic. I can't say enough about this place. It was an enjoyable evening. I highly recommend it and I will be back for sure. Take the family or a small group for even more enjoyment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great like always!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Only on disappointment, their smoker was broken so they were out of ribs. We all had pulled pork mashed potatoes, grits, and.corn bread and it was delish, just like always!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Liked it but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is very highly rated perhaps too highly.

The good:
$5 Pulled pork sandwich
Incognito sign: a stenciled pig -- no words
Real wood smoking

The not so good:
Ran out of ribs on Sunday afternoon @2pm -- seriously this is all you make and you are out?
Took 15min to bring out our order of two sandwiches
Cole slaw just average, baked beans OK but didn't blow me away.
My wife wasn't impressed with the smoked turkey sandwich -- not overflowing with meat like the pulled pork

In summary, I'll go back to try the ribs. The pulled pork sandwich was an outstanding value. The atmosphere is interesting and I'm glad this place exists. Certainly worth a stop if you are in the area but not worth a long drive (there are other excellent BBQ joints in town eg BBQ review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.