We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable BBQ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
3313 Riverside Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1012
513-533-1957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the delicious pork sanwiches, ribs, jalepeno corn bread to the funky picnic-style BYOB eating area...this place rocks! We saw tons of families and enjoyed an eclectic crowd there too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    38
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ - a Hidden Treasure in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

"Wow!" is about as good as I can say. I'm not a huge BBQ fan, but this stuff is fantastic. Small menu, which is good. The wood smoker left an awesome taste on the pulled pork. Cole slaw is great, and the mashed potatoes are served in a paper dish, with just a hint of a crust on top of them. Yum !! BYOB unless you like Mexican Coke. The y do have a few assorted beverages, but if your looking for a beer to go with the meal, best to bring your own. Crowd is an eclectic mix of college, families, even dressed to the 9's professionals on this night. Outside seating at picnic tables was the norm. Small 2 man band entertained outside while you enjoyed the food. They do have a small amount of inside seating. You would describe the place as a real hole in the wall. But my experience has always been that these are the absolute best restaurants and the hidden gems that few people know about. They have been voted Best of Cincy a couple of years for their BBQ, and I can see why. Expect a wait if you get there at dinner time. They do have call ahead. They also have carry out, and can prepare a large amount of BBQ if you're planning a family or company picnic. I can't say enough about this place. It was an enjoyable evening. I highly recommend it and I will be back for sure. Take the family or a small group for even more enjoyment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great like always!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Only on disappointment, their smoker was broken so they were out of ribs. We all had pulled pork mashed potatoes, grits, and.corn bread and it was delish, just like always!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Liked it but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is very highly rated perhaps too highly.

The good:
$5 Pulled pork sandwich
Incognito sign: a stenciled pig -- no words
Real wood smoking

The not so good:
Ran out of ribs on Sunday afternoon @2pm -- seriously this is all you make and you are out?
Took 15min to bring out our order of two sandwiches
Cole slaw just average, baked beans OK but didn't blow me away.
My wife wasn't impressed with the smoked turkey sandwich -- not overflowing with meat like the pulled pork

In summary, I'll go back to try the ribs. The pulled pork sandwich was an outstanding value. The atmosphere is interesting and I'm glad this place exists. Certainly worth a stop if you are in the area but not worth a long drive (there are other excellent BBQ joints in town eg BBQ review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great BBQ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is one of the best BBQ places in Cincinnati. Since the word is out, its always busy, which is great news. The place is small so outdoor seating is avaiable if it's nice outside. The Pulled Pork Sandwitches are some of the best I have had anywhere, and the rest of the food and sides are great too.. Bring your own beer or wine is fun every once in a while.

Bring your appetite and some patience becuase its always busy, but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.