We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
3313 Riverside Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1012
513-533-1957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,672 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have returned to Eli's several times since my initial review (9/16/12). Some restaurants, while excellent in the beginning, deteriorate rapidly. Eli's has not. Their barbecue is still the best.

Physically, the restaurant is the same but outdoor seating has been added. There is a tent, a picnic area and outdoor tables. There were many diners and the atmosphere was festive. A great place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    69
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to Great American ballpark, yummy food and fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Very yummy! The neighborhood looks a bit dodgy...but it is wonderful. Has a real record player, (good to show the kids, as they have no clue what that is). The pulled pork is wonderful and the jalapeño cornbread earned 5 stars at our table! If you are in Cincinnati, give this place a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, unique stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great ribs in a small, neighborhood shack! Really not much more than a storefront restaurant. They have a stack of LPs out (vinyl albums) for the customers to choose their own music (you pick your record then put in on the record player!). The staff was welcoming and helpful. The food is affordable, hot and fast. The BBQ sauce is on your table, so you can add as much or as little as you want (I really liked the rub on the ribs so I didn't use much sauce). Excellent pulled pork sandwiches too. Cash or check only as it is a small, family operation. You park on gravel in the yard. Large tent in the back yard for summer seating. VERY casual. Worth going out of your way for the experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The meat was outstanding. I did not like the macaroni and cheese at all, it was the equivalent of Boxed Kraft. The baked beans were pretty good. The price was great and the food was ready very quickly. We had the pulled turkey which was excellent. Not really pressed to go again because the sides need to step up a few notches.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yes, it is that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I like BBQ. Rather than getting into the religious debates over what constitutes BBQ, let's just say that I prefer the beef side of things, but I'll take pork too.

Eli's does both BBQ and the sides very well. The pork is well smoked, tender, and juicy. Just the right amount of spice to wake you up. The portions are large, and the prices are cheap.

The beans are complex with a depth of barbeque flavor that goes beyond the typical Ketchup poured on canned white beans that make up most BBQ joint offerings. Sweet, but not too sweet, and tangy without being overly vinegary.

The slaw is tangy, and the perfect consistency - not too watery. The jalapeno corn bread is tasty, but a little drier than I would make my own cornbread. However, to a certain extent, the dryness of cornbread is a style thing, so that may be your thing.

In short - eat here. This is the real deal - pork BBQ done correctly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.