We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, unique stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
3313 Riverside Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1012
513-533-1957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,662 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, unique stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great ribs in a small, neighborhood shack! Really not much more than a storefront restaurant. They have a stack of LPs out (vinyl albums) for the customers to choose their own music (you pick your record then put in on the record player!). The staff was welcoming and helpful. The food is affordable, hot and fast. The BBQ sauce is on your table, so you can add as much or as little as you want (I really liked the rub on the ribs so I didn't use much sauce). Excellent pulled pork sandwiches too. Cash or check only as it is a small, family operation. You park on gravel in the yard. Large tent in the back yard for summer seating. VERY casual. Worth going out of your way for the experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    64
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The meat was outstanding. I did not like the macaroni and cheese at all, it was the equivalent of Boxed Kraft. The baked beans were pretty good. The price was great and the food was ready very quickly. We had the pulled turkey which was excellent. Not really pressed to go again because the sides need to step up a few notches.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Yes, it is that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I like BBQ. Rather than getting into the religious debates over what constitutes BBQ, let's just say that I prefer the beef side of things, but I'll take pork too.

Eli's does both BBQ and the sides very well. The pork is well smoked, tender, and juicy. Just the right amount of spice to wake you up. The portions are large, and the prices are cheap.

The beans are complex with a depth of barbeque flavor that goes beyond the typical Ketchup poured on canned white beans that make up most BBQ joint offerings. Sweet, but not too sweet, and tangy without being overly vinegary.

The slaw is tangy, and the perfect consistency - not too watery. The jalapeno corn bread is tasty, but a little drier than I would make my own cornbread. However, to a certain extent, the dryness of cornbread is a style thing, so that may be your thing.

In short - eat here. This is the real deal - pork BBQ done correctly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
“Eli's BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The service was excellent. The staff was efficient, attentive and considerate. They have a collection of records and you can choose what to hear. This and the rest of the atmosphere was very warm and inviting.

We had pulled pork, and ribs. The pulled pork was tender and juicy without any sauce. We ordered it w/o. The ribs were meaty and had a dry rub. I am not a big fan of dry rubs, but the ribs were good. We like the Jalapeno Cheese Grits. Not to spicy bit a little kick. The mac and cheese was good old mac and cheese - comfort food - not exotic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Memphis meets Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Off in the middle of nowhere, it seems a truly local restaurant. I think you will either love or hate it. Be warned that Jalapeno cornbread on the menu gives an indication of the staff's spice preferences. HUGE sandwich and they will put coleslaw on the top without charging it as a side. Meat is very smoky and a sauce with some kick is added by default. Baked beans were too hot for me to try beyond a single taste. Mac n cheese has a Velveeta-like sauce which will stick to your ribs if it can slide down your esophagus before it cools. Mexican Coke in bottles - the cane sugar version as opposed to domestic corn syrup. Wall decorations celebrate a love of the Reds - you can buy the pictures. Pick an album and put it on the turntable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.