We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
3313 Riverside Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45226-1012
513-533-1957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,742 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is great! It's not near much, but it's a hidden gem. Pulled pork sandwich is delicious and the sides are all pretty good. The plates, a sandwich and two sides are a good price. The ribs are not as tasty as the pulled pork and the cornbread wasn't worth getting a second time. Must trys are the pulled pork, beans, and maybe grits or mac and cheese. Cool little setting too with some random farm tools and records you can change while you're there eating. Don't forget to have a glass bottle coke!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am somewhat of a BBQ snob, so I was a bit skeptical about how good it may be, when locals rave about the Montgomery Inn having the best BBQ. I have lived in the south and had some great BBQ, so I was ready to see how Eli's measured up. I was shocked something this good was coming out of such a small place!! The pulled pork was the star, but the sides definitely made the meal complete. We had the cole slaw, BBQ beans, and jalopeno grits. All were amazing! The atmosphere is great too, especially the old phonograph playing any album you may choose. If you love BBQ, you have got to try this place. Mongomery who??!! It is worth the wait, trust me!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great new addition on the Cincinnati dining scene. The pulled pork is outstanding. I especially like the sauce that comes with it that is not too sweet (unlike some other ribs/BBQ places). The cole slaw is also unusually good - nicely chilled and crisp. As others have said, coming here during prime time means lines and no place to sit indoors, so coming at "off" hours is a good idea if you can do it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thought you had seen it all. Been to the best barbecue places. Ate that quintessential pulled pork sandwich and couldn't imagine eating anything better. Think again. Go to Eli's.

This small, unpretentious restaurant, with a huge smoker in the back, located on an out of the way street in Cincinnati, serves awesome food. The menu is limited, but everything on it is outstanding. The pulled pork and smoked turkey sandwiches, served with barbecue sauce and topped with coleslaw, are the best I have eaten, moist and flavorful and with just enough spice. They also serve pork ribs and hot dogs. The hot dogs are interesting: first smoked, then deep fried and then fried on a griddle. They are served on a toasted bun with barbecue sauce, cole slaw and pork crispies. To die for.

Order a platter and you have the choice 2 sides: mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, baked beans, coleslaw or jalapeno corn bread.

The atmosphere is antique store 1960's, with a turntable playing classic 1960's vinyl records. A nice touch.

Great barbecue, great atmosphere. Go there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and A Really Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

All of the food is excellent. Everyone I was with enjoyed their meals a whole lot. Don't get me wrong, the line was out the door and we waited a bit, but it's that good. The Ribs were fantastic and the sides were equally amazing. How often can you rave about bbq beans, coleslaw, and jalapeno grits? My only regret is that I didn't order more of the Ribs. It's also a BYOB place, so if you want some beer bring your own.

You can sit inside, that's great and all. But if you go during the summer, on the weekends, you might just be in for an extra special treat. Behind Eli's is a "park" that has been taken over by the neighborhood. When we were there a whole bunch of people were sitting out in the park and a rock-a-billy band was playing. Some of the neighbors had setup an inflatable movie screen and they were going to play "Godzilla vs. Mothra" when the band was done. That kind of atmosphere on a Friday night is what makes little city venues like this so special.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.