We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Belgian cuisine - tres bonne!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Belgium - Findlay Market

Taste of Belgium - Findlay Market
1801 Race St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
+1 513-381-3280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Belgian
Restaurant details
Sunrise, Florida
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Authentic Belgian cuisine - tres bonne!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Surprising bistro in located in an up and coming neigborhood. Real Belgian food without having to go to Belgium! Steak and frites! Poached pears! Too many Belgian beers to count. Wonderful Belgian wines. Very casual. A bit noisy. Well worth visiting. Keep a couple of $ bills in your pocket to buy off the annoying street people.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Twp, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Taste of Belgium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently joined a group of friends at the TASTE OF BELGUIM in Over-The_Rhine on Vine Street right next door to the Ensemble Theater (great place for shows!) The Taste was a good place to meet. Since we had such a large party, they sat us at the large bakers table in the bakery part of the restaurant. Comfortable, service was very good and food was good. We recommend the Mussels. Tell the waiter to bring some bread to have with the mussels. Price was good as well. Their Belgian beer selection was really good! The OTR Vine St neighbothood is changing. The businesses on that part of Vine St are creating a revitalized feeling and rebirth in OTR for patrons. Check it out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Value for Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went to Taste of Belgium in Over-The-Rhine on the advice of some friends. The service was outstanding and the food is simply fantastic and well done. The Fondu Parmesan and the Moules au gratin were a great way to start the meal as they are not too filling. The Belgian Frites are not to be missed but we think they were much better with the traditional aioli than the chiptole aioli. My friends ordered Moules-Frites in Beer, which were some of the best mussels I have ever had. Order extra bread for dipping as you will not want an ounce of the liquid to go to waste! We ordered the Carbonnades à l’OTR and Wow! The meat was so tender and succelent, however, be warned it is a fairly large portion and it is best to share. We asked for a wine suggestion and the bartender suggested a Bordeaux which probably would have been good had it not been infected with Brettanomyces (which some folks like and others detest). In my opinion, it is too bad that one wine spoiled what was otherwise a lovely dish. The waffles are what this place is best known for and if you haven't had a Belgium Waffle you are missing out! That being said, we could not resist the Belgian Chocolate Mousse. The restaurant itself is cozy and the noise level is perfect for conversation. This restaurant will be on our 'return sooner rather than later' list!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food! Fantastic Service! Cool Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

After savoring the Belgian Waffles at Findlay Market for years, we tried the new restaurant for Saturday brunch. The menu is diverse, fresh, and delectable. The crepes, sandwiches, fries, waffles (with fruit and whipped cream), and coffee were excellent. We plan to hurry back soon to sample the dinner menu and draft Belgian beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium - Findlay Market also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Taste of Belgium - Findlay Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Belgium - Findlay Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.