We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast-food style sushi? Who thinks of these things?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fusian

Fusian
28 W. Fourth St., Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast-food style sushi? Who thinks of these things?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Quick, fresh, build-your-own sushi restaurant with a slightly hip, off-beat foodie vibe. The combinations are enless and the prices are decent. My best experiences have been with spicy tuna and grilled eel rolls, but I have not enjoyed their sides (miso, edamame) as much. Not of the same caliber.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun, on the go sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is so fun if you're a sushi fan. The concept is kind of a Chipotle for sushi, where you are able to make your own roles. I do advise that you look at the menu before hand or go during non-peak hours (read: not lunch) because it can be a little pressure to try to order off the cuff (despite the fact that I eat sushi weekly, I had a complete brain freeze the first time I ordered). Rolls here are large, typically 8 pieces, so one can satisfy a person. Overall, I highly recommend trying this cute little find before it succumbs to the Tower Place curse and closes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Keep Moving Along”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I won't spend much time on the fact that I think the concept of Fusian is ridiculous but I suppose it wasn't going to be forever before someone got the idea of taking the culinary art form of sushi and replicating the Chipotle model. It's unoriginal really.

That said, I'm willing to try anything once. So, on a bright Thursday off I went. The place is nice enough inside, not anything special and not giving any indication that the owners were interested in spending money to make it nice, but clean and plenty of tables for the crowd that was there.

The idea is pretty basic... walk up, create your roll yourself, and someone makes it for you. As long as you know what you want, it's fine. But, just for fun, I took the approach of stating very clearly that I didn't know much about sushi and needed some guidance. I didn't get guidance. What I got, paraphrased, is "we have a lot of stuff... pick what you like and I'm sure you'll like it". No attempt to explain what combinations of ingredients might actually taste good together, no real understanding (as far as I can tell) of what might appeal to a particular pallet, and no clear guidance to help me navigate Fusian-world. I was pretty uninspired as I expected the people making the food to actually be trained on the food and thus be able to offer suggestions.

What I did end up getting was okay and prepared with fresh ingredients. The problem I had was value. My roll had about half as much tuna on it as I get at my favorite local sushi place and yet it was still pretty similarly priced. They were happy to pile on the cheap stuff (vegetables, etc.) but were pretty skimpy with the fish, which was disappointing.

Overall, I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone except as perhaps a novelty to do once just to say you went to the local fast food sushi place. Want great sushi? Go to a proper restaurant that prepares sushi using trained staff who know how to put together combinations that will be great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Yep. The Chipotle of Sushi. About time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fillings included cooked beef and chicken, for those that don't like fish. Me? I love eel. Yum yum yum yum yum. This place was on the ground floor at my hotel and I was there for a week. This is an excellent lunch/early dinner place. It's a great concept, great and friendly service, and a great value. I look forward to going back here.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Custumized Sushi Rolls For The Win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Fusian is essentially Chipotle with Sushi. You get to customize your sushi wrap so that it has exactly what you want on it. The service has been great everytime I have been there. Also, I love the toppings. My personal favorite is carrots because you don't see that in many sushi rolls. They have sides as well. For families, there is a peanut butter and jelly roll for any children. #sushi4life

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusian also viewed

 

Been to Fusian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.