We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potted Hare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Street

Abigail Street
1214 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
513-421-4040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,736 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Potted Hare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'd alway heard of potted hare, but never got to taste it. At Abigail Street, our charasmatic server reccomended it as "Chef's Little Baby", and on the bill it showed up as "Wabbit". It came with a layer of duck fat and toasted brioche. My wife wasn't all that enthusiastic about eating rabbit, and our friend found the duck fat a little rich, so I got to enjoy most of the small glass jar-full myself.... but all three of us were happy with little presentations of lamb, wonderful octopus, chick-peas, prawns and other things.... The skate wings, which had brought us here on our friend's reccomendation were not offered that evening, but potted hare more than made up for it....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Truly Mediterranean Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wonderful selection of dishes from Spain, France, Morocco, Turkey, Greece, Italy. Everything is so good you order way more than you need. The Turkish coffee is a great treat with a wonderful dessert and the wines are terrific also! Always a wait, though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful new dining experience in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend recently introduced me to Abigail Street and I couldn't believe it is in Cincinnati. Great quality of food, interesting flavors and a very chic urban feel to the restaurant. Is this really in Cincinnati Ohio?! I liked it so much I took my husband back a few weeks later and he loved it too. The menu is middle eastern inspired, with small plates. Wine list is great, with some very interesting and unusual entries. The staff are good and making suggestions to match your palate and pocket book; and each time I have been there I have come away with a few good new wine ideas to add to my tasting repertoire. Two suggestions about dining there. First, if you can and are so inclined, get there early because the place fills up fast and is first come-first served. Also, it gets quite loud when the restaurant is is full. Despite these points, this is a real gem in Cincinnati.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over The Rhine Made New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Years since I've been to this town. There is a new vitality in Cincinnati. Abigail Street is a clear indication of better days are here. This is a small plates specialty restaurant offering a great selection of tapas size portions. There was a crowd on both nights
I ate here. It was so good I came back. They have some interesting wines at a fair price.$8 to $10 a glass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High Quality Small Plates - Great Variety and Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This restaurant is in a block in the Over-the-Rhine neighborhood where there are six restaurant/bars frequented primarily by young professionals but also by middle aged and older folks from around the city. The owners also own the bar next door, the Senate that has excellent upscale bar food. Lana, one of the owners, has a middle eastern background,and Abigail Street has quite a few mediterranean type dishes. Some of the excellent dishes feature lamb, beef, scallops, cod fish, and all kinds of unique salads. It is only open Wednesday through Saturday evenings and they do not take reservations. I suggest going early and preferably on Wednesday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abigail Street also viewed

 

Been to Abigail Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.