We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new dining experience in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Street

Abigail Street
1214 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
513-421-4040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,726 restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful new dining experience in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend recently introduced me to Abigail Street and I couldn't believe it is in Cincinnati. Great quality of food, interesting flavors and a very chic urban feel to the restaurant. Is this really in Cincinnati Ohio?! I liked it so much I took my husband back a few weeks later and he loved it too. The menu is middle eastern inspired, with small plates. Wine list is great, with some very interesting and unusual entries. The staff are good and making suggestions to match your palate and pocket book; and each time I have been there I have come away with a few good new wine ideas to add to my tasting repertoire. Two suggestions about dining there. First, if you can and are so inclined, get there early because the place fills up fast and is first come-first served. Also, it gets quite loud when the restaurant is is full. Despite these points, this is a real gem in Cincinnati.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    43
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over The Rhine Made New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Years since I've been to this town. There is a new vitality in Cincinnati. Abigail Street is a clear indication of better days are here. This is a small plates specialty restaurant offering a great selection of tapas size portions. There was a crowd on both nights
I ate here. It was so good I came back. They have some interesting wines at a fair price.$8 to $10 a glass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High Quality Small Plates - Great Variety and Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This restaurant is in a block in the Over-the-Rhine neighborhood where there are six restaurant/bars frequented primarily by young professionals but also by middle aged and older folks from around the city. The owners also own the bar next door, the Senate that has excellent upscale bar food. Lana, one of the owners, has a middle eastern background,and Abigail Street has quite a few mediterranean type dishes. Some of the excellent dishes feature lamb, beef, scallops, cod fish, and all kinds of unique salads. It is only open Wednesday through Saturday evenings and they do not take reservations. I suggest going early and preferably on Wednesday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great, fun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been to Abigail Street many times. It is excellent. The atmosphere is fun and a bit funky. The whole menu is built around small plates that are perfect for sharing. This allows you to get several items and try lots of different things. I've never been disappointed. The olives appetizer is fantastic and I always get it. Another great dish is the potatoes, which seem to complement just about anything else on the menu and are not too hard and not too soft ... just right! They have a fantastic sauce at the bottom, so make sure you use your spoon to get the full experience. I'm getting hungry again as I write this. Of all the restaurant options in this fun section of Vine Street, I would put Abigail Street at the top of the list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Different...but excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's new and unique! The service was excellent! Our server Laura did a great job! The food was served tapa's style...so get several plates and share! The Olive dish was quite unique....large black and green meaty olives that are marinated in some fresh herbs and are quite good. The Chorizo stuffed dates were a unique pairing that worked! We also had the Octopus dish and the lamb special and both were excellent! The wine list was good but a little pricey. It would be good to offer a few more value buy wines and less of the mid-high priced wines. We did not try their signature box wines as the Red selections were limited or unavailable. Overall this was a great dining experience. I am certain that Abigail's will make it to the top 10 on TA for Cincinnati. If you would like something a little different....i highly suggest you try this place. It will not dissapoint!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abigail Street also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH

Been to Abigail Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.