We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love this Theatre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park

Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
962 Mount Adams Cir, Cincinnati, OH
(513) 345-2242
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 143 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I Love this Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friends and I get season ticket packages for the plays each year and we always enjoy going together. There is not a bad seat in the whole theatre and we also like to have a drink from the bar either before the show or during intermission. You can even take your drink with you to your seat which is nice. There is also a small food station served with a nice variety of things- sandwiches, soups and nice desserts and a coffee cart. You are able to place an order for your coffee drink to have ready for you at intermission. The play season always has a variety of shows which is fun. This year was an adventure, a comedy, a couple of dramas, and a suspense. Some were better than others but all were good. I love having this treasure in our city!

Visited April 2013
Thank RoadtriptheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wide variety, so just enjoy the show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Artistic Director Blake Robison, like long-time AD Ed Stern before him, picks a pretty wide variety of material for each season. There is always at least one musical, one comedy review, one edgy drama, one classic drama, and one "concept" play. Depending on your theater preferences, this usually means there will be at least one production each season that you love, and at least one that you will hate.

A couple of things stay the same for all productions, however: Great production details and a great space to watch theater, whether it is the thrust stage of the larger Marx theater or the smaller, very intimate, nearly surrounded stage in the Shelterhouse. The big musicals, classic dramas, and complicated scenery-change plays tend to be in the Marx while the edgier stuff tends to be in the Shelterhouse. Several times during each production, most of the primary actors are available for audience questions after the play concludes.

As noted, production details (lighting, scenery, props, staging, etc.) are excellent. This probably reflects some collaboration with UC's nearby College-Conservatory of Music, where musical theater and drama are big programs.

A couple of minor downsides: Some reviewers have commented negatively on the food that is available, and I am not impressed by the food there either - follow another reviewer's suggestion and eat downtown or at one of the Mt. Adams eateries (like Teak Thai), from which you can walk (caveat: it is uphill), before going to Playhouse. The parking is tough as well - we are subscribers and buy a parking pass for the garage next to the building, but if you cannot get in there, may you have good luck because parking will be a challenge. If you are staying in a downtown or Uptown hotel or eating downtown beforehand, I suggest taking a taxi. Cincinnati Art Museum is a short walk away, so if you are seeing a matinee, you could do both and perhaps leave your car, if you are driving, at the museum - don't quote me on that, however, and if you get towed, you didn't hear any such suggestion from me! ... Huh? This is on the Web? Uh-oh.

Visited April 2013
Thank F00lishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A gem of a theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Of course, this is jewel in Cincinnati's crown. I have been a subscriber for many years and have never failed to enjoy any production of the Playhouse. Intimate seating, good acoustics, a great production staff for lighting, costumes, etc., and the setting atop Mt. Adams, just add to the fine acting and direction consistently on display here. I look forward to enjoying many more years of outstanding plays at this Tony Award winning theatre.

Visited March 2013
Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've been here many times and have always loved the experience. In addition to the plays which are wonderful, the area the playhouse is located in is visitor worthy. Great views of the city.

Visited September 2012
Thank frtwaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cool theatre, shows vary a little in quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Playhouse theatre's stand out for a few reasons.

1) They are small, so you are close to the actors.
2) The sets are designed very well and cover ~180 degrees. That makes the whole experience more interesting.

However, sometimes the shows can vary a little in acting quality. Overal, a big + on the Cincinnati art scene.

Visited October 2012
Thank middpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park also viewed


Been to Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing