We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool theatre, shows vary a little in quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park

Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
962 Mount Adams Cir, Cincinnati, OH
(513) 345-2242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 141 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cool theatre, shows vary a little in quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Playhouse theatre's stand out for a few reasons.

1) They are small, so you are close to the actors.
2) The sets are designed very well and cover ~180 degrees. That makes the whole experience more interesting.

However, sometimes the shows can vary a little in acting quality. Overal, a big + on the Cincinnati art scene.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank middpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic culture in Cincy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I haven't been here since I was younger, but it's a fantastic place to get a bit of culture in Cincinnati and it's less expensive than shows at the Aronoff. Mt. Adams is a great place to find unique restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I took my daughter to a show and we had such a great time. Loved the atmosphere and we had great seats. Couldn't have asked for a better experience for our weekend away! Can't wait to do it again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, I may be a little swayed by the fact that my son is an intern at Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, but it really is a wonderful place. We saw "The Three Musketeers" and are now planning to go see "A Christmas Carol." My only wish is that we lived closer to see more productions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is one of the rare theaters in which you can sit in any seat and see the show just as well as anywhere else. It is designed very well. I don't know much about acting or musical theater but every production I have seen has been entertaining, understandable, emotive, and professional. The costumes are colorful and the sets descriptive. My best experience there was when a magician came to town! A very solid theater all around.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Horsebaby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing