We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great culture, support local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park

Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
962 Mount Adams Cir, Cincinnati, OH
(513) 345-2242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 189 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great culture, support local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We get season tickets every year for the past 15 years. We get four or five shows. There have been many winners. This is a great way to get some culture and support local businesses. We make it a nice date night out. I would recomment this to anyone looking for a special evening out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightfull Dickens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My first visit to Dicken's Christmas Carole at the Playhouse. The set and staging was wonderful! Some acting was superb. The main character, Scrooge,was not my favorite. Up until the ghosts arrived I found his sarcasm not in line with my reading of the character. There was too much "humor". This may have been the director or the actor, or both. Fortunately it improved. The actor playing Fezziwig was the best! Nice family evening- but no children under 5 yrs. old seated.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing better than Live Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

An extremely well run theatre with exciting programs. A must go to experience. We have thoroughly enjoyed every show that we have attended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thompson Shelterhouse Offers More Intimate Theater Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you haven't tried the Thompson Shelterhouse Theater at Playhouse in the Park then you're missing a great theater experience. It's a small theater and so there is much more connection between the audience, which surrounds the stage on 3 sides, and the actors. They're currently doing a play that follows the development of the singing career of Hank Williams - very well done.
Last year they did a knockout version of the same thing with Patsy Cline 's career.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“TWO Tony Awards--Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's easy to see why this regional theatre is so nationally celebrated. Talent is exceptional, production values are exquisite, and the staff goes way out of its way to make sure your visit is exceptional.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.