We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
11241 Elm Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513.381.3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 58 Activities in Cincinnati
Type: Performances
Attraction details
OH
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were blessed enough to have tickets to the Sold Out Amy Grant Concert! This was our first time attending the Symphony, and I was absolutely amazed! Every song was beautiful!

Breath of Heaven sung with the orchestra was outstanding and Amy's song Jesus is not an Heirloom, brought me to tears!
I hope they bring her back every year for a Christmas Show!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Had a great evening with the Cincinnati Pops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great venue. Saw the Pops with Amy Grant for a Christmas themed concert. The new parking garage across the street under Washington Park is a nice add and makes getting in and out much easier.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We attended Beethoven's 9th Symphony on Sat. (11/17) with our out-of-town friends. The May Festival Chorus (of over 100 singers) sang during the last movement - as well as 4 soloists. It was a night to remember. We are so fortunate to has this talented group of top-notch musicians and a beautiful venue right in our own back yard. We have taken these same friends there every year - and have not been disappointed yet. I highly recommend this group/venue.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it! Beautiful music - I miss Eric Kunzel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You can't go wrong with an evening with the Orchestra. Louis Langrée is excellent and Cincinnati rocks; but I do still miss Eric.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A top orchestra in a beautiful hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Cincinnati symphony is one of the most respected in the world. The musicians are top notch and the Music Hall is wonderful and elegant. Although we often attend Cincinnati Pops performances, we have attended the symphony as well - including the May Festival Choir performances. There is an excitement to the performances and the crowd clearly appreciates fine music. We often attend Pops performances, either in the Music Hall or at Riverbend. We enjoy the guest artists. Our only complaint is that although the program has great music and great musicians, some of the less known singers do not have the best voices or exaggerate their roles. In those cases we would just prefer to hear the music and leave out the singers. Examples of this are the Disney at the Movies show and some of the Broadway show tunes. On the other hand the guests such as Michael Feinstein and Bernadette Peters are top notch and we consider ourselves lucky to be able to see and hear them perform. We are very glad that the symphony is here and we don't have to go far to hear really excellent musicians.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.