We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top orchestra in a beautiful hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
11241 Elm Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513.381.3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A top orchestra in a beautiful hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Cincinnati symphony is one of the most respected in the world. The musicians are top notch and the Music Hall is wonderful and elegant. Although we often attend Cincinnati Pops performances, we have attended the symphony as well - including the May Festival Choir performances. There is an excitement to the performances and the crowd clearly appreciates fine music. We often attend Pops performances, either in the Music Hall or at Riverbend. We enjoy the guest artists. Our only complaint is that although the program has great music and great musicians, some of the less known singers do not have the best voices or exaggerate their roles. In those cases we would just prefer to hear the music and leave out the singers. Examples of this are the Disney at the Movies show and some of the Broadway show tunes. On the other hand the guests such as Michael Feinstein and Bernadette Peters are top notch and we consider ourselves lucky to be able to see and hear them perform. We are very glad that the symphony is here and we don't have to go far to hear really excellent musicians.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“World-Class Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Cincinnati Symphony is absolutely terrific! Every concert is thrilling and the musicianship outstanding. Season after season, this group delivers steller performances! I couldn't be more proud to live in a city that values and serves up music of this caliber!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Percussion Performace Sat. Nov. 3, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I went to this showing and it was as good as any of the CSO performances. I believe this only ran for the past weekend, but if they come back with this again, it is definately worth the trip to see it. Personally, I think that any performance of the CSO is worth the trip to see, so I might be a little bias there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We love the CSO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is such a premier concert hall. This symphony is certainly one of the most talented in the country. Tickets are a bit pricey, but there are deals the night of and sadly rarely are events sold out. Parking is easy and very reasonable for a major city. Many wonderful restaurants in the area, but not many that are walkable distance in the winter.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mahler with the May Fest Women and Cinti Boychoir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was over-the-top! CSO programming is never disappointing. We went on a Tursday night and enjoyed a free pre-concert buffet and met interesting fellow CSO enthusiasts---what a great weeknight!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra to your Saves list