We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy hot dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senate

Senate
1212 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 421-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,653 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fancy hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fun place with a cool vibe. Struggling to not make a mess of a very tasty and fancy hot dog is all part of the experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Heard many positives about this place One of the best hot dog places in the country. It is good! I had Chili Rellano which was one of the best I have ever had. It was coated in panko with a very nutty flavor to it. It was not overloaded with cheese either which is usually the problem. Very impressed. My wife had the Lindsey Lohan dog and it was fantastic. I finished my meal with a chocolate and bourbon bread pudding which was very very nice. Very happy with this place.
We went for lunch because we tried to go for dinner and the wait was too long. It was worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trendy and Fun Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch with my sister. Both of our meals were delicious. The truffle fries were to die for. Another reviewer claimed they were greasy and too salty. Quite the contrary. I'm a foodie, and they were perfect. The restaurant has a modern, but retro feel. I will definitely go back when in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Trendy eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I ate at The Senate with a group of friends. It's a trendy place with an eccentric feel. The food was good, especially the poutine. The hot dogs were a little over the top for my tastes.

Service was all around top notch. We were well attended to, and all staff had a classy flair about them.

The place is small and doesn't take phone-in reservations (you can get put on a waiting list when you get there). We waited over 2 hours to get seated on a Saturday night. The crowd was varied, mostly 30'ish well-to-do and trendy people.

The restrooms are single person only. There was consistently a line to go to the men's or women's restroom.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I just didn't get it ~ it took me forever to find something I wanted because I wasn't in the mood for a hot dog or burger BUT the place is always packed and the drinks were good. I would return for drinks but not dinner

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate also viewed

 

Been to Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.