We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Review--Poutine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senate

Senate
1212 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
(513) 421-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,722 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Second Review--Poutine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

As mentioned, this is my second review of this place. And it's mainly because of the poutine. The first few times I came here with my fiance I always eyeballed the poutine, but never ordered it because it sounded and looked kind of...not good.
Then a friend told me it's the most amazing thing on the menu---but I REALLY love the Lindsey Lohan---but she was right. The poutine is one of the most amazing plates of food I've had. Words escape me and they can never do it justice. You just have to go and try it. It's the perfect plate of salty, herby, starchy mound of meat and gravy and egg. It's just go good and so bad for you. Ever since we tried it, we have to order it every time we go to Senate.
I still love the Lindsey Lohan, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thank you, sir...can I have another?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Ever since first trying this last year, I have found this place to truly be a "food destination". The hot dogs are like nothing you've ever had before and the other "side dishes" such as Poutine, Duck Fat Fries and Lobster Mac n Cheese (plus pretzel beignets) are amazing too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best Fries Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not just another hot dog joint. It's got unusual hot dog creations, even a veggie dog. But don't just get the hot dogs or awesome sandwiches, you've got to get the truffle fries! They are so tasty.... mmmm Or just go for a drink and the atmosphere. Whatever reason you stop by the Senate, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Emperor's New Clothes?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

$10 hot dogs, painfully salty chili, grease-laden fries, two-hour waits, and background noise so loud you have to scream at your dinner companions. If that sounds appealing, this is your place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos,Ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drink - truly Americana at its best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was passing through Cincinnati on my birthday and a friend gave me a list of restaurants - I chose this because of its awesome menu. It was one of the best food experiences ever. The duck fat fries, the mussels charmoula and the Lindsay Lohan hotdog were all incredible. The Lexington bourbon beer was served in a brandy glass which made this delicious beer (brewed in brandy casks) somehow better. The pretzel beignets served with caramel marscapone was the "icing" on my cake. Indescribably delish. I would go back in a heartbeat and may just do that next year when I am driving by again....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.