We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senate

Senate
1212 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 421-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,760 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Roodhouse
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice evening out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came to Senate with our son & his girlfriend. Our son works in the OTR neighborhood & wanted us to try the hot dogs. I had a Chicago Dog & it was good but definitely not the best Chicago Dog I've had, that would be @ Hot Doug's, (at where else?) Chicago!. Husband had the Lindsey Lohan, which I jokingly told him when we 1st sat down he had to get so he could say he "ate" Lindsey Lohan. He did enjoy it. We also really enjoyed the pigs tails, which I know sound nasty but really taste like pork BBQ. Our son's girlfriend wouldn't eat them but if I go back that is what I would order. I also had the "my wife's salad" which was good & enough for us to share. We had another appetizer, which was french fries with cheese curds & gravy, it was yummy. We also had the fries w/our dogs & they were good but nothing out of the ordinary. We did have about a 90 min. wait for our table which was right inside the front door so there were always people crowding in/out. I would not want to sit here during cold weather. I do have to say our waiter was superb along with the maitre'd who kept coming to check everything was to our liking. Guess this was an advantage to sitting by the entrance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Hotdogs Are Bananas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have a weak spot for hotdogs, bone marrow, and good cocktails. I'm not going to get too specific here, but the dogs were ridiculous, they serve bone marrow (which is hard to screw up), and their sezerac was one of the best I've ever had. My wife used to think my obsession with bone marrow was "gross." After I ordered the bone marrow here with toast I implored her to try the smallest of dabs. When it was all said and done, she was cramming the last piece of toast in the bone to try and get every last little bit of marrow that might be left. And for that, I will forever owe Senate a big thank you. Too bad the foie gras PB&J sandwich wasn't available, otherwise I might have been able to convert her on two fronts. Oh well, yet another reason to go back and eat at a restaurant that is fighting the good fight in Cincinnati.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cool place, cool people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I came on a weeknight and enjoyed the cool setting, the lively people and the simple menu with a twist. Great area, a bit off the fountain square-Morton's-Jeff Ruby triangle. Just next door & across the street a host of other bars offer the opportunity to continue the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Senate Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Awesome burger,duck fries and wine. Well worth a visit. Parking is tight,so be prepared to hunt. Great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Vibe, Great Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Senate is located in the OTR area, surrounded by upscale shops and businesses. A public parking lot is RIGHT next to the restaurant, and when I was there at lunchtime, there were a few spots left.

I was greeted at the door by a wonderfully nice hostess, who walked me to my table. The tables are closely packed, but if you need to discuss private matters, it should be fine because it's pretty loud. I was marginally able to hear my friend across from me, but couldn't hear anyone on either side. You are packed in like sardines, but you don't feel claustrophobic, and you feel like you're in your own space.

The Senate is known for it's specialty hot dogs, so of course I ordered a dog. I ordered the dog of the day, the "Adriana Lima" - a beef hot dog topped with bacon, guacamole, goat cheese, and I believe another spicy sauce. I also ordered the Truffle Fries.

Service was impeccable. Your glass was always topped off. The dogs came out in 10-15 minutes, which was great, because it gave some time to catch up with my friend.

Hands down, that was the best hot dog I've ever had. In my life. The truffle fries were spiced and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese (I think) - they were wonderful. They were served with some kind of sauce, but we didn't use it...the fries were perfect on their own.

Price? For 2 dogs, 1 fries, 1 cola...$31.00. Was it worth it? Absolutely. I'm so glad I found this place and will go back very soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.