We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senate

Senate
1212 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 421-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must-Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is great. On my first visit, I had the Croque Madame (beef dog, ham, and poached egg), and it was amazingly sinful. I could feel my arteries hardening as I stared at it, and I flippin' loved every second of it. When Senate was first suggested to me, I was like 'hot dogs? really?' but I was completely misguided. This is definitely a place to check out. Very different, very delicious.

Check out their daily special dog as well!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Go for the Gourmet Hot Dogs and Lively Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Senate is located in Over-the-Rhine neighborhood of Cincinnati. Its a old German neighborhood that is going through a revival, new restaurants, bars, and condos are bringing life back in this beautiful and historic neighborhood. We went on a Thursday evening, and place was hopping and lively. My wife and I choose to sit at bar instead of waiting for table. The bartenders were attentive, informative, and friendly. They recommended almost everything on menu, but we decided to go with thier gourmet hotdogs. Was very flavorful and fillings. We also shared the Poutine as an appetizer, unique taste, a delcious concoction. Afterward, I recommend heading over to the newly renovated Washington Park across from Music Halls. Happening and eclectic scene, on most nights over summer they have music events planned.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had one lunch here and my meal was terrific. It was the Lobster BLT. You might think the lobster would be overpowered by the bacon. Not so. You might think it's not real lobster or small little pieces. It was great braised lobster in large pieces. My lunch-mates were also very pleased with their meals too.

The restaurant has a large bar and a relatively small, narrow dining area. It gets loud here so keep that in mind. It's also very busy. Overall a great spot in the up-and-coming Cincinnati downtown.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This restaurant is worth experiencing! Definitely a favorite of the 20-30 crowd, there were also some of us that we're older and fit in just fine! Menus is very intriguing- I had the hamburger and fries, and they were great! Awesome selection of wines. The neighborhood can be a bit scary when parking on the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Upscale bar with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Senate is a lively, fun place to eat and drink. My youngest daughter just relocated to Cincinnati and wanted me to experience Senate. I very much enjoyed my meal and the total "Senate experience". I"ll be back during subsequent visits to Cincinnati.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate also viewed

 

Been to Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.