We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great salads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Guy Bistro

The Wine Guy Bistro
2692 Madison Rd, Ste K1, Cincinnati, OH 45208-1350
513-834-5712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of us went for a light dinner....their salads are wonderful. Oh....and the chocolate lava cake....YUM

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“W&G Downtown Cincinnati Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This review is for the W&G near the Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati. We went to a ballgame there while staying at the Marriott Kingsgate. We drove to a location near the ballpark a couple of hours before the game, parked our car and hit the streets looking for a place to eat. We didn’t expect to find a place of quality, only perhaps a bar with sandwiches etc. We spotted the W&G (about a block or so from the field), which was quite crowded. Being wine enthusiasts, we decided to try to get in. Fortunately, there were a couple of seats at the bar, which we quickly took.

What a find. Terrific wine list, with many reasonably priced options and an excellent selection of wines by the glass. The menu was not extensive, but each item looked interesting. The salads (W&G and a Caesar) were so crisp and fresh that we suspect the ingredients were growing that morning at a nearby farm. The seared Tuna was beautifully done and also very fresh.

A word about the staff. Despite the very crowded atmosphere due to the ballgame, the staff clicked off their duties with a remarkable efficiency and pleasant demeanor. Special recognition goes to Michelle and Leslie. We also admire a young man whose name escapes me (something like “E”) who tended the wine bar, churning out order after order while maintaining great rapport with the crowd. We also met quite a few patrons at the bar who seemed to be enjoying a similar experience.

The W&G was one of several restaurants we patronized on a week-long trip to the Cincinnati area. It is hands down the best meal we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service...but got food poisoning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I loved everything about this restaurant...until we got food poisoning 2 hours after our meal. We suspect the meat ball appetizer, which we both had.

If you can look past that issue, though, the wine was wonderful and the food was very good and quite wine-friendly and the service was personable and attentive.

If you like your wine on the more serious side (dry), you'll find the Italian red flight and Cabernet Sauvignon flight more to your liking. Although, the general reds flight was still enjoyable.

We would have ranked their food higher, but the food poisoning problem caused us to reduce our rating.
We did try to call and ask for a manager to report the food poisoning, but were put on hold and then our call was lost both times we called, so we messaged from Facebook, but

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spicy shrimp pasta & flights are awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are regular patrons of WG Kitchen in Rookwood and Princeton. The spicy shrimp pasta, scallops and wine flights are all great. Used groupons before and go back often. Great service but no reservations so get there by 6:15 on Saturdays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great experience, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited the restaurant because we had a coupon, but we will definitely be back. We had a wonderful server and the food was absolutely amazing. We also did wine flights, which was fun and different, and a great compliment to our meal. I had the grilled chicken salad, and it did not disappoint. It was enormous! Not to mention extremely tasty and fresh. My husband got a tortellini dish with chicken and tomatoes, and he also enjoyed that. We got the anitipasti to start, and it was really different and fabulous. It included grilled vegetables, couscous, prosciutto, bread and an abundant amount of olives (which we loved). And, they give you pita bread and a sun-dried tomato cream cheese dip as a complimentary starter. Really yummy! Like I said, we'd definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Guy Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Guy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Guy Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.