We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick 2 nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5900 East Galbraith Road, Cincinnati, OH 45236 (Formerly Hannaford Suites Hotel Cincinnati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick 2 nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife stayed here the middle of October for a wedding in the area and were satisfied but not too impressed. The room was clean, the bed felt old and whe we asked the young woman at the desk about it she said, "they are meant to feel that way." Two nights was approx $400 and the breakfast was served on PAPER PLATES-Really!!! Please get a dishwasher and real plates.
We'll come back but will request not to stay in room 104.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the 1st floor, too loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    49
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
68
37
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times over the last year. The hotel is privately run and is in better condition than most I have been at, with good linens, furniture and beds. As others have noted, it is in a very convenient location in the Kenwood area.

Having said that, the breakfast/Happy Hour here are poor and cost them a star. Breakfast is typical bulk-mix concentrated fruit juices, single-serving cereal, vending machine pastries, a waffle machine and bagels. They are frequently out of items (juice, milk, waffle batter) and the staff responsible for restocking the area/cooking are foreign, surly and indifferent when you ask them for anything.

The "Happy Hour" consists of a single party sized bowl of potato chips or pretzels and a single dessert-bowl sized bowl of salsa for everyone, along with a single 10 oz. plastic cup of Light beer per guest. I have never seen the bowls refilled after going empty and after the 2nd visit, have given up completely on Happy Hour.

Overall, this is a better-than-average hotel that could be great if they didn't cheap-out on the food.

Room Tip: The hotel is directly next to I-71, so if you are sensitive to road noise, you'll want to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip in late October, 2012. I arrived late on a Sunday night to find a sign waiting for me saying that the desk clerk was away and would return shortly. It turned out she was just in the breakfast area watching Walking Dead on the TV and was able to check me in quickly. She was quite friendly and was able to direct me to open restaurants in the area.

I was given a first floor room, which I don't think was used very much. It had a staleness about it and the previous guests left a comment card on the counter dated from early September. I found the room to be generally clean, but with specs of dust or dirt on the bathroom floor and hair that clearly wasn't mine in the bathroom sink.

Since I was only there for one night, my primary concerns were "did the TVs work?" and "was the bed comfortable?" The answer to both of those questions was "yes." The TVs were both great for Sunday night football in high def and I slept very soundly in the bed.

Breakfast started at 6:30am, but as noted elsewhere, the omelet station did not start until 7am. I came down right at 7am and was first in line. By 7:15 the line was very lengthy and the breakfast area was packed. Beyond the omelet, coffee, and juice, the breakfast area was not much to speak of. There were boxes of cereal, some stale looking breads, some packaged rolls, and a waffle maker. I was hoping for fresh fruit and possibly a pastry or donut from a local establishment, and I was out of luck. The pastries were packaged and didn't look so good.

Overall, I would characterize this place as "fine." The location is definitely wonderful, very close to the mall and the surrounding shopping. If you don't require much from a hotel, this could be the place for you.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms facing the freeway. I also don't like a first floor room, but this one was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It is located in a great area- close to the mall, restaurants, stores, and the highway. The staff were really nice and helped with anything I needed. They told me when I arrived that they clean the room only once a week and that if I wanted more than that then I should tell them. I did not ask them to clean but I would have preferred that they had emptied the garbage cans. Also on the last night a big group arrived and when I went down for breakfast in the morning there was nowhere to sit. Maybe they could have arranged specific hours for the group to eat and then notify the other guests when it's best to come for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better since there is only one elevator and it is slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hannaford Suites. We had one of the suites. It was huge and included a full kitchen and separate lounging area with a TV in additon to a TV in the bedroom. It was clean, had appropriate blackout curtains, a white bedcover instead of a filthy bedspread, and a pillow top king-sized bed. I thought it was well-appointed. The free breakfast was great (pay attention to the times the omelets are served) and the staff kept things serviced. Our trip was quick and stressful due to illness in the family. It was a nice over-night retreat.

Room Tip: I have no idea - we happened to get one nearer to the traffic side but I still didn't notice noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very nice property. Was visiting Xavier to move daughter in for the school year. Right on and off interstate. Also convenient to Downtown Cincinnati. Everything you need -Malls/food/etc- right around this safe neighborhood. First impression provides a more upscale appearance, when not knowing what to expect based on a couple of reviews. Chose this property based on TripAdvisor reviews. Not disappointed. Room in very nice shape, 1 bedroom suite more than enough room. Included a sleeper sofa. Bathroom in great shape, nice shower. I'm 6'3" and a lot of times shower head is at low height or of poor quality, but not here. Standard comp breakfast, with waffle maker AND cooked to order omelets. No one to clean tables during the busy a.m. crowd, but guests could have been a little more respectful and cleaned up after themselves. Our stay here was all good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place has a lot of potential, but is in need of some upgrades. I was upgraded to an executive suite, which was a nice surprise. That being said, the executive suite wasn't the best room I've ever stayed in. Don't get me wrong, it was really nice, leather couch, nice LCD TV, great kitchen; however, the toilet kept running after flushing it, the cold water handle on the sink was busted, and the hot water handle came off when using it! There were chips on the wall (not the biggest deal really), the breakfast was pretty weak (I did miss the omlet bar, so can't vouch for that), and very crowded (tight space for breakfast). All in all the hotel is in a great location, better than an average room, but I probably wouldn't stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites

Address: 5900 East Galbraith Road, Cincinnati, OH 45236 (Formerly Hannaford Suites Hotel Cincinnati)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannaford Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hannaford Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hannaford Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.