We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and unique pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
1220 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
(513) 246-0192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Rives Junction, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Smallish, and we were there at 4 PM when they opened, so that wasn't a problem. Atmosphere doesn't count as much as food for us, but it was pleasant enough. The pizza? Excellent, and many varieties.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place but..... ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went to A Tavola with family and young daughter on a Sunday evening. First off, it is a popular place and from other accounts usually has a long wait. (We waited about 45 min) Especially when u only have two tables that accommodates 6. It's a smaller place and I guess due to the small space, large crowd and building acoustics it is very loud in the restaurant. You have to yell to the wait staff and to the people next to you. In regards to food, we started with appetizers. The bacon wrapped dates were excellent as we're the Arancini (fried cheese balls). I expected that the style of pizza would be thin and crispy although it was more like pita bread which left our parsley butter base, pepperoni and sausage pizza soggy. I first though it was our choice in base (not a huge fan of tomato sauce) but from the looks of the other pizza that had regular sauce it was fairly soggy too. Also the crust was mostly blackened but not crispy as stated before . It is a wood fire pizza place but was not expecting such a burnt taste. No one was unhappy with the place overall, just not 5 stars to me. Cool place but too many detractors to be in the top 20.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“About to become one of my favorite places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had a pizza that was as near to an Italian pizza as you can expect!
Service was friendly and atmosphere was just super nice.
I loved the pizza bar seat where you could actually see guys making pizzas.
When I'll move out of Italy it's gonna become one of my favorite spots.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wow

Way impressed with the pizza and the service. Try the wild boar meat balls!!'

This place is a must while in Cincinnati

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very unique place for a pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very unique place for a pizza. They had interesting choices for toppings. And we had a desert pizza that was unreal! Worth checking this place out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.