We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
1220 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
(513) 246-0192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,721 restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Newport, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delicious food. Great variety. Good house wine. Excellent service. What's not to like? Definitely will be back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    59
    21
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Tavola a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I had dinner with friends at this bustling Over-the-Rhine restaurant. The place was very busy, but service was good, and the food was excellent. We really liked the fig and prosciutto pizza, which apparently is a big favorite. Be aware that that the menu is mostly gourmet pizzas and appetizers. The restaurant does not take reservations, and it can be pretty crowded and noisy at dinnertime. Nonetheless, I would gladly eat there again. Just a couple of blocks from Cincinnati's Music Hall. You can park in the underground garage in front of Music Hall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place when a babysitter falls through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

best pizza… wood fired and menu overall fits our taste (fresh and flavorful). Restaurant can get loud; perfect for a 1 year old+. No one notices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm not sure what all the fuss is about this place. It's noisy, the drinks are over-priced, and you can't get a pizza with mushrooms because (according to the server) they only use fresh ingredients. We sat by the door and got a blast of cold air every time the door opened. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

You can't miss choosing A Tavola for a casual night out. All of their wood fired pizzas are phenomenal, but my favorite is the sweet pea and bacon. Their bacon is made in-house and is ridiculously good. Split the pizza, as well as the lovely asparagus salad and your choice of some pretty decently priced bottles of wine and you can have a memorable dinner for under $50. If you're feeling "sweet", they serve a select few flavors of outstanding gelato (sea salt caramel) for desert.

Only slight downside is the possibility of a very long wait and tables that are a little close together.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.