We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
1220 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
(513) 246-0192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,728 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blown Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

So to give some background. I lived in Italy for some time and I generally refuse to eat in Italian places because they are mostly disappointing. However, my partner and I read the reviews for A Tavola and she convinced me to go. Little did we know that the person sitting next to us, was one of the owners. He was very nice and answered my questions and he assured me that the food is authentic and that him and his brother often go to Italy and if possible bring back bits of italy for the restaurant. We arrived and there was an hour and a half waiting list, but when we were seated and got our custom dishes... it was well worth the wait. The food was delicious and perfect. A Tavola blew me off my snobby feet.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Real Italian Pizza in the heart of Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you haven't been to A Tavola yet, go! This place has an urban vibe and is right in the heart of the revival of Over The Rhine in Downtown Cincinnati. I would siggest to go early beacuse there can be a long wait, but that just tells you how amazing the food is. After a recent trip to Italy, I couldn't wait to go back to A Tavola for some real Italian pizza. The Appetizers are all amazing(love the Arancini!) and the pizza is too die for. Everything comes out super quick so once you sit down you don't have to wait long for your food. They also have an extensive beer/wine list and don't foget to finish out the night with some of their authentic gelato. They even have seats at the pizza bar where you can watch the pizza makers do their magic. Love this place, please do yourself a favor and GO!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trendy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food was definitely different from your average pizza parlor. We visited around 6pm on a Friday night and it was a 35 minute wait for a table for two, which wasn't bad, but we had plans afterward so we decided to sit at the bar instead of wait. The bar staff was excellent; personable and knowledgeable. The seating at the bar however was cramped and uncomfortable. We took the recommendation of the staff and tried the date appetizers wrapped in bacon. They were very good, sweet and savory, but the portion size was a bit tiny for the price. For the main entree we had the artichoke pizza, which was delicious. The goat cheese mixed with the pesto was a great combination. Overall a good experience, though a bit pricey for our weekly budget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beat customer service anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Tour the pizza oven from Italy , get the dates , you can't go wrong awesome awesome a must place to eat

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A reason to leave the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wee finally decided to try this restaurant in Over The Rhine with some friends. We were advised to go early (or late) and we got there at a little after 5. Good thing; there was a line by the time we left. Valet parking is available at the curb a little before the restaurant but is not well marked. We really enjoyed the stuffed dates and also the roasted broccoli. The pizza have unusual combinations (and very thin crusts). All of us shared three pizzas and the fig prosciutto was the hands down favorite. We truly enjoyed the meal and plan to go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.