We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W. Mitchell Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

On the pro side, we had a suite with refrigerator, microwave, small kitchen like sink, and some cupboard space. The bed was comfy and liked pillows and flat screened TV. The king room also had some nice space and nice closet, dresser, and shower. Despite closeness to expressway, there was no road noise heard inside. On the con side, the position of the hotel to the expressway on ramp made it hard to get into and out of the parking lot. During heavy traffic times this could be a serious problem. Our refrigerator froze our food and the AC either made the room too cold or too hot. The "just right" temperature seemed unattainable.We also heard some noise from next room but cranking up the fan took care of that. Staff was nice and breakfast area was nice. There is a fitness room with a treadmill and recumbent bike but the former pool has been filled with concrete. Did not have any concerns about taking a walk in the neighborhood during the day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
8
12
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and affordable. Indoor heated pool, which is a small, but my nephews still enjoyed it. The complimentary breakfast was decent, with a good variety of choices. Check out was easy and the girl at the front desk was very friendly. Would definetley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is off a busy street, but we felt the price was good. The room was clean but we had a hard time regulating the temperature, so it was a little too hot and we didn't sleep well, although the beds and pillows are comfortable. There was a big stain in the hallway right outside our room, and although we were in a nonsmoking room, there was a strong smell of smoke in the hallways, so we must have been near smoking rooms. That was definitely a negative, since most hotels no longer allow smoking, or at least have nonsmoking floors. The breakfast was good and staff are very nice. However, if you can find better in the area for the price, go ahead and stay there instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

THE BAD-The room didn't have a fridge or safe inside it like was stated, but you could take your belongings and put them in a safe downstairs. If you walked a little bit around the hotel surroundings, you were in a bad area of Cincinnati...my friend and I opted to drive everywhere because of this, even if it was only a two minute walk. The shower curtain wouldn't stay closed while taking a shower and the water for the shower was only luke warm and never got hot.

THE GOOD- Easy to find....it's right off the highway and was very quiet. Beds were super comfortable (and 'm someone with a major back problem). We ended up getting free breakfast both mornings which we didn't know was included until we checked in. Overall, I would stay here again as opposed to paying $150 at a hotel that was closer to Duke Energy Center.

Room Tip: No spa, right off the the highway, only about a 5-10 minute drive to Duke Energy Center, Kentucky, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this comfort inn did not want to leave. Housekeeping kept our room clean and enough linen for the day. I had no problems connecting to the internet. The bed is so comfortably. I am going to have to get me some of these pillows. It's well insulated did not need the heat much considering it's in the thirty outside. Overall I really have nothing negative to say about comfort inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at their hotel on Jan. 18 and checked out on Jan. 19. We stayed in one of their non smoking rooms for two reasons, one WE DON'T SMOKE and for two I'M ALLERGIC!! When we walked in the room we notice a musty smell and my allergies started to bother me. My husband checked us out @10 am the next morning, but they never gave him any check out papers. They told him he didn't need one which I thought was a little strange. We thought everything was good till my husband received a call the Monday morning stating that are card was charged $200.00 for smoking in the room and trying to cover it up by wrapping towels around the smoke detector and that they had pics to prove it. We tried to get a hold of the manager but she was never available. We asked the person that checked us in if there was a possibility that one of the employees could have smoked in the room and cover it up to save their job. Their response was that none of the employees smoke. We called corporate and they told us that the hotels are independently owned and that they don't deal with billing issues so there was nothing they could do. When we finally got a hold of the manager we asked her where the smoke detectors were located but she never gave us an answer. All she would say is we have proof. We would never book with them or any other hotels affiliated with them and I would recommend no one to book with them either. If I could I wouldn't give them 1/2 a star.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms smell like smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was at this Comfort Inn while recently in Cincinnati on business. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The hotel was near a very busy highway but I did not find any noise problem. The breakfast was typical --sausage, scrambled eggs, pastries, waffles, etc. Make sure you get there before closing time because they take it down immediately...no late-comers. I found there staff to be friendly and rate reasonable. I know they had a fitness room but am not sure if they had a pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 130 W. Mitchell Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Cincinnati is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We are conveniently located on I-75 at Exit 6, adjacent to Cincinnati Downtown, Norwood and Clifton. This beautiful hotel is close to Downtown, Cincinnati Zoo, Cincinnati Convention Center, Norwood and Kenwood Mall and many restaurants within 3 miles. We offer 54 spacious guest rooms that include Kings, Doubles, King Suites with a twin pull-out couch and Jacuzzi Rooms. Special in room amenities are 25-inch color TV, 2-line Phone, free high speed internet, voice mail, microwave / refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron with board, free local calls and free parking. Hotel Features include smoking and non-smoking rooms, complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Fitness Center and a free morning paper. BUSINESS : Procter & Gamble, Sun Chemicals, Enerfab, Cognus & G.E. HOSPITALS : University, Good Sam, VA, Children's, Bethesda, Christ. UNIVERSITIES : University of Cincinnati (UC), Xavier. Local Attractions are Cincinnati Zoo, New port Aquarium, Bengals Football, Reds Baseball, Cincinnati Museum Center, B&B Riverboat, Kings Island, and the Argosy Casino. All rates are based on double occupancy, there is a $10 charge for each additional adult. Roll-away beds are available for a charge of $10/night, complimentary cribs are also available on first come first basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati i-75 Hotel Cincinnati
Holiday Inn Cincinnati
Cincinnati Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.