We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's

Tony's
12110 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-1731
513-677-1993
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,702 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fields Ertel
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times but the calendar led us here 3 times in 5 weeks. No complaints at all. Every visit was different but amazing. Happy hour at the bar is a great weeknight treat. Fun food menu is super and prices are nice. Main dining room with friends or a date night is always top notch. Live music on weekends is so fun. Everyone on the floor makes you feel like you are their only concern. We will be back again and again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    44
    11
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“first time - good, not great, experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently dined at Tony's on a Tuesday evening for our anniversay (which was noted at the time we made our reservation on Open Table). We arrived a bit early so we had a drink at the bar and noted that almost everyone in the bar area was having a meal; and everyone was in a great mood.
When decided to be seated, we took our drinks with us (we had about 1/2 drink remaining in our cocktail glasses). The hostess seated us and we sat and waited to be noticed and given our menus; we waited for about 12 minutes and finally asked one of the bussers about our waiter; we said we didn't know who he/she was. Our waiter promptly came over and somewhat haughtily apologized saying that when he saw that we had drinks, he thought someone else was taking care of us, yet he admitted he didn't check it out. He noticed that his comment/explanation didn't sit to well with us, and he stumbled some and quickly dropped his somewhat arrogant tone. He told us that he would provide a dessert for us to share as his way of making things right. We didn't respond and simply took the menus. My husband was not pleased with his explanation or his attempt to resolve the problem. We decided that we wanted to focus on our celebration so we checked out both the food and wine menus. We were anxious to try their steaks as we love a good steak; we grill them often and pride ourselves in duplicating a steak worthy of a great Steakhouse experience. We also like to dine out at great Steakhouses, both in Cincinnati and during our travels. Jeff Ruby's restaurants (especially the Precinct) do Cincinnati proud and we have for years celebrated our anniversary with them; not only do we enjoy the food but also the service and attention paid to "special occasion" diners. However, this year, because of friend's recommendation, we decided to dine at Tony's. Happily, our meal did not disappoint. I had one of the best Greek salad's I have ever had and my filet was cooked just right. My husband likes filet tenderloin but his favorite is a NY Strip; he has not ordered one in recent years at any of the Ruby's because he felt the steaks weren't trimmed well and weren't as good we could actually cook at home. After talking with our server, he decided to order the strip steak and he said it was "fabulous" - well trimmed, seasoned and very tender. We had a nice bottle of wine and enjoyed our meal. After dinner we were too full for dessert, so our server boxed up a slice of cheesecake for us to take home. The cheesecake was very plain - no sauce or fruit and just average in taste.
Sadly our anniversary was never acknowledged by anyone - except by the hostess who yelled "Happy Anniversary" as we walking out the door!! I would think that a place like Tony's would cater to "special occasion" diners. Tony did stop by our table while we were dining; we chose not to tell him of our waiters blunder as we didn't want to ruin our celebration.
For a Tuesday evening, the restaurant was very busy; all the servers and bussers were kept moving!
One last mention - the wine we ordered was 40 dollars a bottle; a week later at another very nice restaurant (in another town), we got the same wine for 23 dollars a bottle. Retail we can purchase the wine for $13 -15 dollars a bottle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“discovered steak nirvana- not for Vegans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time at Tony's and we are so very impressed. At times we crave a good cut of red meat...and we judge all the steak places in Cincinnati(and in our travels in USA) by the standard of Jeff Ruby's steak houses( the best in service and foodie experience), so going to Tony's we anticipated excellent steaks due to Tony Ricci's long association with Ruby. It was a wonderful dining experience! A good first impression was decor of dark wood and stone, electic art on walls, then continued at bar with drinks( with an original made specially for one of us), where the bartender was personable and attentive to our enjoyment. Our dining service was also outstanding with almost instantaneous refills in drinks and bread(sourdough- yum). Steaks were done perfectly, as expected, rare+ and rare, the cuts had a rub of 5 world salts and some "secret" spices...not overwhelming but enhancing the taste of meat. $41 for a superb 12 oz filet is very reasonable. Wine list good selection, also variety of ryes and scotches pleased us too. Steak toppings and sides were usual steakhouse fair, did add to cost but this is typical. Music combo started later in evening and we liked that accoustics handled noise level- easy to converse. Tony is meeting and greeting and doing quality checks throughout the night...shows how much he demands of this restaurant with his name on the marquee. We like the location- closer than drive to downtown steak places- and we think Tony should be proud of his branding this restaurant. It is outstanding dining for those who love a fine steakhouse experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive and not all that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was a little disappointed after eating here. Everything was ok, but its a little expensive compared to other similar places and nowhere near Jeff rubys on taste!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend for any special occassion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went here on a Monday for my husband's birthday and practically had the restaurant to ourselves. It was an excellent choice. The sour dough bread to start was great. The drinks were great. We had the key lime pie martini and cucumber martini (really fantastic) and finished with brandy. The calamari was pretty good, but not as spicy as I had hoped. The salads were good. My husband had the New Zealand lamb and it's the best lamb we've had outside of New Zealand. It was prepared perfectly. I had the yellow fin tuna and while it was more well done than I expected, it was seasoned wonderfully. The portions were larger than I expected as well. We were also given a complimentary dessert for his birthday which was a nice tough. The service was really outstanding as well. We were never without drinks, never had to wait for anything and the manager greeted us and checked up on us twice. I can't say that would happen on a busy night, but it definitely made a great impression on us while we were there.

In short, go there for the lamb, great drinks and the amazing service. There are very few places in Cincinnati that will compare with Tony's.

Fair warning, it is expensive, but I left feeling like it was less expensive that I had anticipated. I'd much rather go here than ANY Jeff Ruby's, Morton's or Ruth Chris. I always feel overcharged at those places, but Tony's really delivers for what they charge you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's also viewed

 

Been to Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.