We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discovered steak nirvana- not for Vegans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's

Tony's
12110 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-1731
513-677-1993
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fields Ertel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“discovered steak nirvana- not for Vegans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time at Tony's and we are so very impressed. At times we crave a good cut of red meat...and we judge all the steak places in Cincinnati(and in our travels in USA) by the standard of Jeff Ruby's steak houses( the best in service and foodie experience), so going to Tony's we anticipated excellent steaks due to Tony Ricci's long association with Ruby. It was a wonderful dining experience! A good first impression was decor of dark wood and stone, electic art on walls, then continued at bar with drinks( with an original made specially for one of us), where the bartender was personable and attentive to our enjoyment. Our dining service was also outstanding with almost instantaneous refills in drinks and bread(sourdough- yum). Steaks were done perfectly, as expected, rare+ and rare, the cuts had a rub of 5 world salts and some "secret" spices...not overwhelming but enhancing the taste of meat. $41 for a superb 12 oz filet is very reasonable. Wine list good selection, also variety of ryes and scotches pleased us too. Steak toppings and sides were usual steakhouse fair, did add to cost but this is typical. Music combo started later in evening and we liked that accoustics handled noise level- easy to converse. Tony is meeting and greeting and doing quality checks throughout the night...shows how much he demands of this restaurant with his name on the marquee. We like the location- closer than drive to downtown steak places- and we think Tony should be proud of his branding this restaurant. It is outstanding dining for those who love a fine steakhouse experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive and not all that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was a little disappointed after eating here. Everything was ok, but its a little expensive compared to other similar places and nowhere near Jeff rubys on taste!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend for any special occassion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went here on a Monday for my husband's birthday and practically had the restaurant to ourselves. It was an excellent choice. The sour dough bread to start was great. The drinks were great. We had the key lime pie martini and cucumber martini (really fantastic) and finished with brandy. The calamari was pretty good, but not as spicy as I had hoped. The salads were good. My husband had the New Zealand lamb and it's the best lamb we've had outside of New Zealand. It was prepared perfectly. I had the yellow fin tuna and while it was more well done than I expected, it was seasoned wonderfully. The portions were larger than I expected as well. We were also given a complimentary dessert for his birthday which was a nice tough. The service was really outstanding as well. We were never without drinks, never had to wait for anything and the manager greeted us and checked up on us twice. I can't say that would happen on a busy night, but it definitely made a great impression on us while we were there.

In short, go there for the lamb, great drinks and the amazing service. There are very few places in Cincinnati that will compare with Tony's.

Fair warning, it is expensive, but I left feeling like it was less expensive that I had anticipated. I'd much rather go here than ANY Jeff Ruby's, Morton's or Ruth Chris. I always feel overcharged at those places, but Tony's really delivers for what they charge you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistent Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten there on numerous occasions, never disappointed. Harvey Germain (chef) does a wonderful job with his menu. Everything prepared with upmost care. Recent visit had the salmon, it was a unique taste, surprisingly marvelous for such a staple menu item. (He mentioned he was considering changing it , please DON'T). Steaks and Seafood on par with any of the many high end pervayors of steak or seafood in Cincinnati. Located in a northern neighborhood of Cincinnati, easily accessible via the interstate. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our regular places...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We love the bar at Tony's! Great place to stop in for a drink or a casual dinner. We are there 4-6 times a month. Sarah is our favorite bartender...Shane you are a close second! Let's face it she is just prettier!
Tony is almost always there, meeting and greeting. The whole staff make you feel like they are happy you are there.
On occasion we do sit in the dining room and enjoy a relaxing dinner. Obviously the steak is what you want to order.
The only suggestion we would make is that Tony needs to work on his vegetables! We are on a low card diet so no potatoes. If you substitute asparagus or broccoli there is a $4 up charge...and neither are very good...bland and overcooked!
Steak is fantastic! Service always great! We loved this place...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's also viewed

 

Been to Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.