We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time But Not The Last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's

Tony's
12110 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-1731
513-677-1993
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,722 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fields Ertel
United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Time But Not The Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had been meaning to try the new Tony's after hearing so many good things, but it seemed our schedule never worked out. Last night we made a special effort as it was our 7th anniversary, and we weren't disappointed. It is our understanding that Tony spent many years in the Jeff Ruby conglomerate, but it would appear the student has surpassed the master. We have eaten at both Jeff Ruby's downtown (entirely too many tables crowded together. I prefer choosing my own "elbow -to-elbow companions"), and Johnny and Carlo's (sloppy service, acceptable at McDonalds, but not a restaurant this expensive). We would rate Tony's superior in both food and service either. The wait staff was attentive without being obtrusive. The steaks were each done perfectly and per our requests. Both the manager and Tony himself came around to check on our progress and to see if we had any complaints of suggestions. All in all, we were very pleased and will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

In a town with a lot of steak venues, Tony's more than holds its own. Enjoy thoroughly their menu. All is well prepared, and the service is personal and superb, and not overly ostentatious. It has a low keyed pleasant ambience, making it a very comfortable place for a very good meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They really went out of their way to make our Anniversary great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a great steak for our anniversary this year and wanted to try out Tony's.

We made reservations earlier that week and let them know it was for our 10th wedding anniversary. From the point we entered the door we were treated superbly! Everyone was very friendly and hostess, manager, waiter, and even the chef wished us well at some point that evening. I really felt like a "regular" that has been coming there weekly for years.

I ordered a Strip steak, and my wife had the fish special. My steak was cooked perfectly (med-rare is my choice) and the flavor was fantastic! My wifes fish came out moist and flavorful. Unlike many places that like to drown the fish in some special sauce, hers allowd the fish to be the main ingredient. It did have a hint of a herb-butter sauce to bring out the flavors! We had the asparagus, and au gratin potatoes for sides and they too were quite tasty!

If you are looking for a nice fine dining experience, you can't go wrong checking out this place.

Thank you all at Tony's for the memorable evening!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Hosted a company party here. Everything from beginning to end was top notch. Raw bar appetizers, salads, entrees (mostly steaks and seafood), and homemade cannoli for dessert. Fantastic jazz musicians. Great attentive service by Kevin. The owner stopped by several times and went out of his way to accommodate special needs. In a city known for excellent food, Tony's is among the best. Hard to top it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Business dinner with group of approx. 20 people in a private dining room. Absolutely excellent steak and perfect shrimp and oysters to start. Great ambiance and very knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's also viewed

 

Been to Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.