We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vive La France!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
713 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
5136214777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,725 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Vive La France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went there for lunch and had a great time. The wine list was impressive although we bought just glasses of wine (we were working a conference table). The goat cheese appetizer with asparagus was delicious, and the French Onion Soup was tasty. Eve the French Castle burger our friend had was a work of art. The Tarte Fine and Mussels were outstanding. Our server Christopher as friendly and efficient. We come back here anytime.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    80
    28
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They made room for us! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were coming in from about an hour and a half away, just a quick weekend get away trip. I found the menu for this place and wanted so badly to try the risotto. When we arrived we didn't have a reservation, and the hostess had just filled her last table. There was however a corner table by the bar that was I think just for those having a sip that they created for us to sit and have dinner. We thought out of the box here, because the risotto is not on their spring menu which they had just switched to. Feeling a little disappointed we decided to try something else. I ordered the scallops and my husband ordered the belly, rib and tenderloin trio dinner. VERY delicious food and the setting is "family oriented". Saying that I mean it felt as if the staff knew everyone there, a lot of regulars I feel come to this place and it's pretty self explanatory why. The staff is very professional and friendly, the food is fantastic and the atmosphere is quaint. Though we are some serious country folk we thought outside of the box and tried this fantastic little place and left very satisfied by the whole experience. Expect to pay around 80 bucks for two people if you get soda and an appetizer with your entree's .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good, not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I had a very good dinner, and in particular I would call out Jean-Robert's always excellent sense of flavor. I think one of his hallmarks is interesting use of ingredients to create interesting, balanced and nuanced flavors. The service was excellent as well. My only gripe is that my food temperatures weren't right. Both my appetizer (which was supposed to be hot) and entree were lukewarm, and I always find this annoying. A high end restaurant like this needs to get food out of the kitchen and served hot, no excuses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Jean-Robert's Table now the best dining in Cincinnati (apart from Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnney) since we lost those 5-star venues. Superb cuisine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“fun with food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful, romantic meal. The food was glorious. I started with the stuffed squab wrapped in pastry. The pastry was perfect and the squab was something I have never had but loved the rich, gamey flavor. My wife had the oxtail ravioli which we had read was a top dish. It was very good, but the pasta was not perfect (a little dry). The entrees were amazing combination of flavors. The duck, like the squab, was perfectly prepared. The short ribs were very good. I especially enjoyed the pairing with figs, wilted greens, and squash. For dessert, my wife had the creme brûlée which was very good. I had the Napoleon with strawberries. The dark chocolate gelato was good, but the rest needed more cream.

High point:
- every dish was paired with a reduction sauce.
- the pairing of flavors in each dish was excellent
-presentation

not so good
- deserts - few options and not great
- service -ok but not great. no personality, slow, I expect more at a great restaurant
-wines by the glass - not good
- Absinthe -I wanted to see the preparation but it was done at the bar and not at the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Robert's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.