We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
713 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
5136214777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good, not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I had a very good dinner, and in particular I would call out Jean-Robert's always excellent sense of flavor. I think one of his hallmarks is interesting use of ingredients to create interesting, balanced and nuanced flavors. The service was excellent as well. My only gripe is that my food temperatures weren't right. Both my appetizer (which was supposed to be hot) and entree were lukewarm, and I always find this annoying. A high end restaurant like this needs to get food out of the kitchen and served hot, no excuses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    32
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Jean-Robert's Table now the best dining in Cincinnati (apart from Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnney) since we lost those 5-star venues. Superb cuisine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“fun with food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful, romantic meal. The food was glorious. I started with the stuffed squab wrapped in pastry. The pastry was perfect and the squab was something I have never had but loved the rich, gamey flavor. My wife had the oxtail ravioli which we had read was a top dish. It was very good, but the pasta was not perfect (a little dry). The entrees were amazing combination of flavors. The duck, like the squab, was perfectly prepared. The short ribs were very good. I especially enjoyed the pairing with figs, wilted greens, and squash. For dessert, my wife had the creme brûlée which was very good. I had the Napoleon with strawberries. The dark chocolate gelato was good, but the rest needed more cream.

High point:
- every dish was paired with a reduction sauce.
- the pairing of flavors in each dish was excellent
-presentation

not so good
- deserts - few options and not great
- service -ok but not great. no personality, slow, I expect more at a great restaurant
-wines by the glass - not good
- Absinthe -I wanted to see the preparation but it was done at the bar and not at the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“My favorite in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

John Robert opened this restaurant in order to be a bit less "high end" than his Pigall's restaurant was. While the prices have dropped a bit, I would say the food is still just as wonderful and well prepared as it was in Pigalls. The decor of the restaurant is so inviting and cozy, it's really gorgeous. The service is very attentive and knowledgable (interesting that most of his PIgall's staff followed him here, tells a lot about him). The food is basically French, but not complicated. I would say that the only thing that doesn't always hit the spot with me is the desserts. They are good, but they don't always match the excellence of the main meal. J-R is a huge asset to Cincinnati and I hope he will always stay around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lorie M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Table has good food, immaculate presentation, excellent service and a lovely downtown location and the owner/chef has an impeccable reputation

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Robert's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.