We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
713 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
5136214777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,740 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“My favorite in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

John Robert opened this restaurant in order to be a bit less "high end" than his Pigall's restaurant was. While the prices have dropped a bit, I would say the food is still just as wonderful and well prepared as it was in Pigalls. The decor of the restaurant is so inviting and cozy, it's really gorgeous. The service is very attentive and knowledgable (interesting that most of his PIgall's staff followed him here, tells a lot about him). The food is basically French, but not complicated. I would say that the only thing that doesn't always hit the spot with me is the desserts. They are good, but they don't always match the excellence of the main meal. J-R is a huge asset to Cincinnati and I hope he will always stay around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    31
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lorie M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Table has good food, immaculate presentation, excellent service and a lovely downtown location and the owner/chef has an impeccable reputation

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have eaten here three times and have enjoyed my meal each time. I had eaten four or five times at his old place, Jean-Ro's Bistro, and also liked that. The food in this place is similar, but a little more tricked out. The service has been very good. I'm not so keen on the paintings in the dining room. I liked the decor and high ceilings in the old place better, but I can understand that this time he might have preferred not to do a fake French bistro but something original.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine, at very affordable price !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Jean-Robert is a true French man, who did his cuisine classes in best French resturants. His carte is very fine cuisine, with French specialties (snails, frogs legs, etc.) and more international dishes. Very gourmet. Service friendly and effective. Warm and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise for Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I generally don't expect excellent continental food in the mid-west, but this is an exception. The service was just what you want, attentive but not overbearing and quite knowledgeable. All the food was excellent. The escargot was excellent. Our group had about five different dinners and all were excellent, even the seafood, which is also unusual for the mid-west. The atmosphere was very pleasant. Typical of french food, it was not too heavy and the various tastes on the plate complemented each other extremely well. Definitely a place to try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Robert's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.