We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classy Joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste

La Poste
3410 Telford Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220
+1 513-281-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Poste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,760 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Classy Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I finally got around to eating at La Poste, and I'm sure glad I did! It's a classy joint with very long menu descriptions and delicious eats. I think the wait staff all have masters degrees in food descriptions. The wine recommendation I was given to go with their wild mushroom ravioli was perfect. Eat here with friends, alone at the bar or on a date.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Another great find in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Everyone had a great meal at La Poste. Very imaginative choices on the menu. From appetizers to entrees to deserts...each item brought to our table of four was delicious. Definitely worth a return visit!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, great grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We lucked out going on Wed, and caught live Jazz with Cincinnati's own Faux Frenchmen (Wed, 7:30 pm – 10:00 pm). They played great tunes that actually enhanced our dining conversation. The place showcases fabulous artwork amidst clean lines and open space. All the servers and the hostess were attentive yet low-key, making for a relaxed meal. Enjoyed Pellegrino bubbly to start, then a rosé. The Sopressata Salad was a delight: spinach, pistachio relish, fig purée, cherry vinaigrette, and goat cheese. The carrot-ginger soup du jour was pleasantly not cream-based. Bright flavors. A pile of Steamed Mussels in white wine sauce, caramelized shallots, fennel & garlic, pernod, served with rye toast was delicious (and I'm not even a big mussels fan). The Wild Mushroom Ravioli with sautéed oyster mushrooms, fresh & fried sage was generously portioned and rich. Skate Wing with sunchoke galette, glazed carrot ribbons & asparagus, fried leeks, lemon, white wine & caper sauce was a bit salty. Lovely service and just a delight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Nice Wine List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner at LaPoste. The service was excellent, and it's a nice area in Cincinnati. Everything we had was beautifully prepared and seasoned.
Our only complaint is this. A really excellent chef can afford to be flexible. Neither of us eats pork--and really, you can't leave the prosciutto off a dish of pear, goat cheese, parsnips? Really?

That said, the scallops were delicious, as were the mushroom ravioli.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“perfect for special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

everything was excellent. the duck, salmon and salads were tasty, cooked perfectly. portion sizes were just right.
service was excellent. upscale but relaxed atmosphere, cozy.
worth the price. great place to celebrate a special occasion. not much privacy though.
highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Been to La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.