We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great find in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste

La Poste
3410 Telford Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220
+1 513-281-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Poste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another great find in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Everyone had a great meal at La Poste. Very imaginative choices on the menu. From appetizers to entrees to deserts...each item brought to our table of four was delicious. Definitely worth a return visit!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, great grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We lucked out going on Wed, and caught live Jazz with Cincinnati's own Faux Frenchmen (Wed, 7:30 pm – 10:00 pm). They played great tunes that actually enhanced our dining conversation. The place showcases fabulous artwork amidst clean lines and open space. All the servers and the hostess were attentive yet low-key, making for a relaxed meal. Enjoyed Pellegrino bubbly to start, then a rosé. The Sopressata Salad was a delight: spinach, pistachio relish, fig purée, cherry vinaigrette, and goat cheese. The carrot-ginger soup du jour was pleasantly not cream-based. Bright flavors. A pile of Steamed Mussels in white wine sauce, caramelized shallots, fennel & garlic, pernod, served with rye toast was delicious (and I'm not even a big mussels fan). The Wild Mushroom Ravioli with sautéed oyster mushrooms, fresh & fried sage was generously portioned and rich. Skate Wing with sunchoke galette, glazed carrot ribbons & asparagus, fried leeks, lemon, white wine & caper sauce was a bit salty. Lovely service and just a delight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Nice Wine List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner at LaPoste. The service was excellent, and it's a nice area in Cincinnati. Everything we had was beautifully prepared and seasoned.
Our only complaint is this. A really excellent chef can afford to be flexible. Neither of us eats pork--and really, you can't leave the prosciutto off a dish of pear, goat cheese, parsnips? Really?

That said, the scallops were delicious, as were the mushroom ravioli.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“perfect for special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

everything was excellent. the duck, salmon and salads were tasty, cooked perfectly. portion sizes were just right.
service was excellent. upscale but relaxed atmosphere, cozy.
worth the price. great place to celebrate a special occasion. not much privacy though.
highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
“La Poste - A Great Restaurant Gets Lost in the Mail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cincinnati has some great restaurants, and although the city is not on America's culinary trail as yet, it will soon be a foodie destination. The lists of Cincinnati's best will usually have Boca, Jean-Robert's Table, Orchard's, Jeff Ruby's, Metropole, Salazar, Nicola's etc., but never have I noticed La Poste. This past two weeks I have dined twice at La Poste and both times had a fantastic dining experience. The room has the charm of a Parisian boîte and the good looking young staff greets you with a warm & welcoming smile. La Poste's wine list, separated by new world and old world selections, has hidden gems at all price points. Specials are recited by the well informed staff, and if the "catch of the day" doesn't meet the chef's approval, it is sent back to the purveyor with a firm "no thank you!" That's the sign of a good kitchen! I'll say this once; the Mushroom Ravioli is to die for! Okay, I'll say it twice, the Mushroom Ravioli is to die for. My short ribs with a horseradish cream sauce were scrumptious. Desert's bread pudding with caramel was worth the extra hour at the gym the next day. For some odd reason, marketing is frowned upon in Cincinnati and many restaurants, bars, and nightspots become unknown hidden gems. That's cool in universally recognized cities like New York, San Francisco, London, Paris, and Buenos Aires. However, a city like Cincinnati, trying to tear off its atavistic cloak of conservative stodginess, needs to shout its "cool" to the heavens with the bellow of an ox. La Poste should be added to the top list of Cincinnati's restaurants and I'm delivering this message post haste: La Poste is great and the Mushroom Ravioli is to die for!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Been to La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.