We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, food, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste

La Poste
3410 Telford Street, Cincinnati, OH 45220
+1 513-281-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Poste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great menu, food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to La Poste prior to our playhouse in the park show. We told the server upon arriving that we needed to be out of there by 7:30. It was only 6pm. We promptly ordered after looking over the diverse and very interesting menu, and great specials. We received a free appetizer prior to our orders. However our main meals took a long time. It was after 7pm when we reminded the server of our timeline. We just didn’t want to have to rush through eating our meals. That said, the meals came out and everyone ate everything on their plates. We also received a free dessert that was to DIE for. Overall, I’d say this was a pleasant experience and we’ll go back to sample some other dishes.

I also wanted to note, that while I gave this a ($$$$), I ordered two appetizers for my meal and that was really inexpensive, but the main dishes are all over $25, with the specials at $40.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“V day in 5 courses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The special valentine day 5 courses menu, was how a 5 courses menu should always be. We travelled through 5 plates, surprising our palates, beautifully presented, with an exceptional selection of wine pairing.
The restaurant is divided in two sections, with one which is much more private and romantic than the other..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to dine at La Poste and what an amazing find of a new restaurant for us the experience was. Every appetizer, entree, and dessert our party of four chose was outstanding! We also ordered wine that the sommelier aptly described and recommended and it was excellent as well. The ambiance is lovely, but the hands-down winning features of the restaurant are the food and service! As with 5-star restaurants, the service was professionally attentive and the support staff for our server made sure that we were attended to for all needs constantly, but we never felt "fawned over" or interrupted. We enjoyed a fabulous apple salad, incredible P.E.I. mussels and delectable scallops for appetizers. Our entrees were the magnificent Herbed Crusted Salmon, the Fish Feature which was flounder in a creamy wine sauce, and the outstanding fillet migneon. Presentations were exquisite. Flavor and tate were superb! Everyone sampled each other's and were all equally delighted! Closing with the bread pudding and creme brûlée were the coup-d-etat for the evening! As other reviewers have commented, this is an expensive evening but very well worth it! La Poste is a major asset to in the dining scene in Cincinnati!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Staff, food and wine list makes up for a pricey meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've been to this location under its former identity Tink's and much more enjoy the current approach. The salads, appetizers and entrees are all delicious and if you like wine, they must have the largest wine cellar in the city!?! It doesn't hurt one of the owners is also a sommelier but the biggest credit is the staff. Friendly, informed and due to our rushed schedule got us out before our deadline. TIP: if you like mushrooms, try the Ravioli--killer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a MUST try in Cincinnati. If you love fine dining then this place is for you. My husband and I ordered the "tasting" menu and everything was delicious. It was a great way to try a little of everything. The ravioli was my favorite and the bread pudding was to die for. It is definitely on the pricey side, but well worth it if you are foodies like us. The wine selection/service is also amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Been to La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.